Langley Fitzurse, Wiltshire Genealogy
Guide to Langley Fitzurse, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Langley Fitzurse, Wiltshire|
|Poor Law Union||Chippenham|
|Parish registers: 1865; For more records see Kington St Michael|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Diocese||Gloucester and Bristol|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Wiltshire|
|Location of Archive|
|Wiltshire Record Office|
KINGTON-LANGLEY, a tything and a chapelry in Kington-St. Michael parish, Wiltshire. The tything lies 1 mile NE of Kington-St. Michael village, and 2½ N of Chippenham railway station. The chapelry is conterminate with the tything; and bears the alternative name of Langley-Fitzurse.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.