Langford, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Berkshire
Berkshire Parishes
Langford

Guide to Langford, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Langford, Berkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bampton; Farringdon
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Faringdon
Registration District Faringdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1675
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Witney
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Langford; Court of the Peculiar of Banbury
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History

Langford is an Ancient Parish partly in Berkshire and mostly in Oxfordshire.

Other places in the parish include: Little Faringdon, Little Farringdon, Radcutt, Radcot, Radcott, and Grafton. Genuki.org.uk has a more detailed description of this location.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Langford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Langford Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

As this parish is mostly in Oxfordshire, the records are listed under that county in the FamilySearch Catalog.

The original films are held by the Berkshire Record Office. To learn more about this collection through Genuki.org.uk click here.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Primitive Methodist

Census Records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241200.
To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee or free.

  • findmypast (fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a free based UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

England Jurisdictions 1851
Vision of Britain

Websites

  • Langford in Berkshire in GENUKI
  • Langford Oxfordshire in GENUKI

References