To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Lanercost with Kirkcambeck, Cumberland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Lanercost with Kirkcambeck, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lanercost with Kirkcambeck, Cumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eskdale
County Cumberland
Poor Law Union Brampton
Registration District Brampton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1684
Bishop's Transcripts: 1666
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Carlisle
Diocese Carlisle
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cumberland Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

LANERCOST-ABBEY (St. Mary Magdalene), a parish, in the union of Brampton, Eskdale ward, E. division of Cumberland, 2½ miles (N. E.) from Brampton. Brampton, comprises the ancient parish of Kirk Cambeck. [1]


Kirkcambeck, was an an extra-parochial parish in the township of Askerton in the parish of Lanercost. It was less then 1/2 mile square and shared a border with the parishes of Stapleton and Walton.

 "ASKERTON, is a township in the parish of Lanercost, 15 miles N.N.E. from Carlisle. It includes the ancient parish of Kirkcambeck or Cambeck, the church of which was destroyed by the Scots in the reign of Edward II. Askerton Castle stands on the eastern bank of the Cambeck. Two of the towers still remain, and are now connected with modern buildings, and occupied as a farmstead..." Historical & descriptive guide to Carlisle and district, published 1881 by Albert Barnes Moss

Resources[edit | edit source]

If you live in Cumbria then you will have access to a variety of resources; however, for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers.  Refer to Lanercost and Cumberland in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Lanercost was in Brampton district. To search an index of Brampton district records go to FreeBMD. The Cumberland Civil Registration article tells more about these records.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Lanercost with Kirkcambeck parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Lanercost with Kirkcambeck Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-1939
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Abstract of the Answers and Returns made pursuant to an Act ...
1831 Census
free google ebook
Lanercost Parish - 36,510 Acres or 57 Sq. Miles

Employment

Townships
Houses
Agriculture
Trade
Others
Persons
Askerton
75
63
11
2
473
Banks
51
38
6
15
296
Burtholme
41
27
7
11
239
Kingwater
55
45
10
-
365
Waterhead
21
19
3
2
177
Totals
243
192
37
30
1550

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Lanercost on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), Date accessed and adapted 6 August 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

Lanercost Priory