Landrake, Cornwall Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Landrake, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Landrake, Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union St Germans
Registration District St Germans
Records begin
Parish registers: 1583; Separate register exist for St Erney beginning 1555
Bishop's Transcripts: 1612; Separate records exist for St Erney beginning 1673
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery East
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court A Peculiar of the Court of the Bishop of Exeter (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1847 - Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

LANDRAKE (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of St. Germans, S. division of the hundred of East, E. division of Cornwall, 4 miles WNW from Saltash. There is a chapel of ease at St. Erney.[1]

Landrake (Cornish: Lannergh) St Michael Landrake with St Erney is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cornwall.

Other places in the parish include: Brightor and St Erney.

Landrake Church is dedicated to St Michael. It stands on a hill and the tower is 100 ft high. Parts of the building are Norman but the majority is of the 15th century. There is a brass to Edward Courtenay, 1509

The parish is part of Landrake with St Erney and Botus Fleming group in the Diocese of Truro.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Landrake, Cornwall Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[8]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[9]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[10]
Landrake, Cornwall Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1583-1812

COPC 1565-1913
1555-1913
1585-1938
FMP 1585-1812 1588-1837 1813-1837
FREG
1583-1812

IGI 1585-1812 1583-1756
PALL
1800-1812

TGEN 1653-1840
1583-1807

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 106

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish of Landrake with St Erney.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

St Germans Poor Law Union

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites[edit | edit source]

Landrake in Genuki

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 17-20. Date accessed: 18 March 2013
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987).
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes.
  10. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 20 May 2014.