Landrake, Cornwall Genealogy
Guide to Landrake, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||St Germans|
|Registration District||St Germans|
|Parish registers: 1583; Separate register exist for St Erney beginning 1555|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1612; Separate records exist for St Erney beginning 1673|
|Probate Court||A Peculiar of the Court of the Bishop of Exeter (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1847 - Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall|
|Location of Archive|
|Cornwall Record Office|
LANDRAKE (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of St. Germans, S. division of the hundred of East, E. division of Cornwall, 4 miles (W. N. W.) from Saltash. There is a chapel of ease at St. Erney.
Landrake (Cornish: Lannergh) St Michael Landrake with St Erney is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cornwall.
Other places in the parish include: Brightor and St Erney.
Landrake Church is dedicated to St Michael. It stands on a hill and the tower is 100 ft high. Parts of the building are Norman but the majority is of the 15th century. There is a brass to Edward Cowrtney, 1509
The parish is part of Landrake with St Erney and Botus Fleming group in the Diocese of Truro.
Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.
Landrake, Cornwall Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Landrake, Cornwall Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 106
Cornwall Online Parish Clerks
An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish of Landrake with St Erney.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:
- England Jurisdictions 1851
- Vision of Britain
Landrake in Genuki
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 17-20. Date accessed: 18 March 2013
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
- 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
- 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
- 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
- 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 20 May 2014.