Lancaster St Mary, Lancashire Genealogy
Guide to Lancaster St Mary, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Lancaster St Mary, Lancashire|
|Hundred||Amounderness; Lonsdale; West Derby|
|Poor Law Union||Lancaster|
|Registration District||Garstang; Lancaster; Preston|
|Parish registers: 1599|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1675|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Amounderness|
|Location of Archive|
|Lancashire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
LANCASTER (St. Mary), a parish, comprising the borough, port, and market town of Lancaster, having separate jurisdiction, partly in the hundred of Lonsdale south of the Sands, and partly in that of Amounderness, N. division of the county of Lancaster. Other places in the parish include: Hays Haw Fell, Hawthornthwaite Vaschery, Heaton with Oxcliffe, Lee Fell, Lentworth Vaschery, Marshaw Fell, Myerscough, Ortner Vaschery, Oxcliffe, Pilling Lane, Scotforth, Stodday, Thurnham, Torrisholme, Abbeystead, Aldcliffe, Ashton, Ashton with Stodday, Bare, Bulk, Catshaw Vaschery, Dunkenshaw Fell, Emmetts Vaschery, Fulwood, Green Vaschery, Hackensall, and Heaton.
To read an excellent 19th Century historical perspective on the City of Lancaster and its many churches and chapels, see the Topographical Dictionary of England by the famous topographer, Samuel A. Lewis.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Lancashire Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]
An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/
Church records [edit | edit source]
- 1538 - 1910 England, Lancashire, Parish Registers 1538-1910 at FamilySearch — index
- 1603 - 1910 England, Lancashire, Cheshire, Yorkshire, Parish Registers, 1603-1910 at FamilySearch — index and images
Some online transcriptions exist for Lancaster St Mary's Parish (Cathedral), as well as for its several chapelries and ecclesiastical parishes--over which it held jurisdiction. Links to online baptisms, marriages and burials registers are displayed below and located at the web sites indicated; note the ranges of years:
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|FMP = findmypast (£)|
|FREG = FreeReg|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index (£)|
|LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk|
|LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk|
|LANCASTER ST MARY'S PARISH (1599) Indexes|
|LANCASTER ST ANNE Chapelry (1796) Indexes|
|LANCASTER CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1857) Indexes|
|LANCASTER ST JOHN Chapelry (1755) Indexes|
|LANCASTER ST SAVIOUR Chapelry (1867) Indexes|
|LANCASTER ST THOMAS Chapelry (1845) Indexes|
|LANCASTER CASTLE (EXTRA PAROCHIAL) () Indexes|
|BLEASDALE (ADMARSH CHAPEL) Chapelry (1779) Indexes|
|CATON Chapelry (1585) Indexes|
|FULWOOD CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1861) Indexes|
|FULWOOD GARRISON CHAPEL (Army) - 1848 Indexes (at Man. Central Libr.)|
|FS||None||None Extant||None Extant|
|GLASSON Chapelry (1840) Indexes|
|GRESSINGHAM ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST Chapelry (1676) Indexes|
|LITTLEDALE ST ANNE Chapelry (1848) Indexes|
|MYERSCOUGH Chapelry (1599) Indexes|
|OVER-WYRESDALE CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1724) Indexes|
|OVERTON ST HELEN Chapelry (1678) Indexes|
|POULTON-LE-SANDS HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1813) Indexes|
|QUERNMORE ST PETER Chapelry (1862) Indexes|
|SCOTFORTH ST PAUL (1876) Indexes|
|SKERTON ST LUKE Chapelry (1834) Indexes|
|STALMINE ST JAMES WITH STAYNALL CHAPEL Chapelry (1583) Indexes|
Original copies of the parish registers for Lancaster St Mary and its numerous attached smaller chapelries' registers are held at the Lancashire Record Office, Bow Lane, Preston, PR2 1RE.
In addition, the Family History Library, at FamilySearch in Salt Lake City, UT, U.S.A. also has microfilm copies of these originals and these may be circulated to any one of its 4,600 satellite FamilySearch Centres worldwide.
Non Conformist Records[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
- 1647-1996 England, Lancashire Non-conformist Church Records, 1647-1996 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Taxation[edit | edit source]
- 1665-1667 - Lancashire Hearth Tax: Lonsdale Hundred, Lancaster Borough. E 179/132/352, The National Archives. Microfilm: FHL Film 2228692. Includes Aldcliffe, Ashton, Bare, Bulk, Carnforth, Poulton le Sands, Scotforth, Stodday, Thurnham, and Torrisholme.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 6-17.Date Accessed 24 September 2013
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above..