Lancashire Parishes

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Lancashire Wiki Topics
Flag of Lancashire.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Lancashire Background
Local Research Resources
England
Lancashire
Parishes

Lancashire is by far one of England's most populated counties. Yet from early times Lancashire possessed only about 75 ancient parishes- far fewer than most other counties, making it exceptionally unique among all of England's counties. To handle the dramatic population explosion within its county boundaries, the Church of England created hundreds of chapels of ease (or chapelries) and district churches, each one attached to an ancient parish. There were about 400 chapelries in Lancashire.

 

After completing research in the ancient parish registers, be certain to ask yourself if you have also searched in the church registers of each chapelry attached to that parish . To not follow this strategy in your research will result in less-than thorough searching, and greater chance of failure to solve your research problem or objectives.

For more information about church records in Lancashire, see Lancashire Church Records

Ancient Parishes

There were just over 75 Ancient Parishes in Lancashire. This is equivalent to a parish in other counties. Most ancient parishes were divided into chapelries, though a few had no chapelries and Manchester had 150. The average number of chapelries per ancient parish was about eight.

This table lists all the ancient parishes of Lancashire. The page for each parish has a link to a "comprehensive list" of the chapelries.

Aldingham Altcar Ashton in Makerfield St Thomas (became a parish in 1845)
Ashton under Lyne St Michael Aughton Bispham
Blackburn St Mary Bolton le Moors St Peter Bolton le Sands
Brindle Bury St Mary Cartmel
Childwall Chipping Chorley St Laurence
Claughton St Chad Cockerham  Colton
Croft with Southworth Croston Dalton in Furness
Deane Eccles Eccleston St Mary (near Croston)
Flixton Garstang Golborne
Halsall Halton Hawkshead
Hesketh with Becconsall Heysham Hoole
Huyton Kirkby Ireleth Kirkham
Lancaster St Mary Leigh Leyland
Liverpool St Peter and St Nicholas Lytham Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys
Melling Middleton Mitton St Michael
Newchurch North Meols Ormskirk
Pennington Penwortham Poulton le Fylde
Prescot Preston St John Prestwich St Mary
Radcliffe St Mary Ribchester Rochdale St Chad
Rufford Sefton St Michael on Wyre
Standish Tarleton Tatham
Thornton in Lonsdale Tunstal Ulverston St Mary
Urswick Walton on the Hill St Mary Warrington St Elphin
Warton (near Lancaster) Whalley Whittington
Wigan All Saints Winwick

Chapelries

These tables list most of the chapelries in Lancashire and their ancient parish. Many post-1837 chapelries are not included.

Each chapelry (church) kept their own separate church registers of christenings, often burial and sometimes marriage registers as well. Most chapelries did not obtain "parish" status and were not granted 'licence' to marry couples until after 1836. The vast majority of Lancashire's chapels and district churches never received "parish" status until modern times, mostly by the twentieth century. 

Chapelry (year founded) Ancient Parish Chapelry (year founded) Ancient Parish
Abram Wigan All Saints Accrington St James Whalley
Adlington Standish Admarsh Lancaster St Mary
Aigburth Childwall Ainsworth Middleton
Altham Whalley Ancoats All Souls (1840) Manchester
Ancoats St Andrew (1831) Manchester Ancoats Christ Church (1822) Manchester
Ancoats St James the Less (1867) Manchester Ancoats St Jude (1837) Manchester
Ancoats St Martin (1865) Manchester Angerton extra-parochial
Ardwick St Benedict Manchester Ardwick St Silas (1842) Manchester
Ardwick St Thomas (1740) Manchester Arkholme Melling
Ashton in Makerfield Winwick Ashton under Lyne Christ Church (1846) Ashton under Lyne St Michael
Ashton under Lyne St Peter Ashton under Lyne St Michael Ashton upon Ribble St Andrew Preston St John
Ashworth Middleton Astley Leigh
Astley Bridge Bolton le Moors St Peter Atherton Leigh
Audenshaw Ashton under Lyne St Michael Bacup Whalley
Balderstone Blackburn St Mary Bamber Bridge St Saviour Walton le Dale
Bardsley Ashton under Lyne St Michael Barrowford Whalley
Barton Preston St John Barton upon Irwell Eccles St Mary
Bedford Leigh Leigh Belmont St Peter Bolton le Moors St Peter
Beswick Christ Church (1862) extra-parochial Beswick St Mary (1878) extra-parochial
Bevington Liverpool Bickerstaffe Ormskirk
Billinge Wigan All Saints Birch in Hopwood Middleton
Birch in Rusholme St James Manchester Birch in Rusholme Holy Trinity (1849) Manchester
Bircle Middleton Birtle cum Bamford (1846) Middleton
Blackburn Holy Trinity (1848) Blackburn St Mary Blackburn St John (1825) Blackburn St Mary
Blackburn St Michael and All Angels (1839) Blackburn St Mary Blackburn St Paul (1792) Blackburn St Mary
Blackburn St Peter (1821) Blackburn St Mary Blackley St Andrew (1866) Manchester
Blackley St Peter Manchester Blackpool St John (1821) Bispham
Blackrod Bolton le Moors St Peter Blawith Ulverston St Mary
Bolton le Moors All Saints (1796) Bolton le Moors St Peter Bolton le Moors Christ Church (1841) Bolton le Moors St Peter
Bolton le Moors Emmanuel (1838) Bolton le Moors St Peter Bolton le Moors Holy Trinity (1826) Bolton le Moors St Peter
Bolton le Moors St George (1796) Bolton le Moors St Peter Little Bolton St John (1846) Bolton le Moors St Peter
Bootle St Mary (1848) Walton on the Hill St Mary Bradford Christ Church (1862) Manchester
Bradford St Philip (1850) Manchester Bradshaw (1781) Bolton le Moors St Peter
Brathay (1837) Hawkshead Bretherton (1843) Croston
Briercliffe (1843) Whalley Brindle Heath (1866) Manchester
Broughton (near Preston) Preston St John Broughton Ascension (1876) Manchester
Broughton cum Kersal St John (1837) Manchester Broughton St Thomas (1881) Manchester
Broughton (Higher) St James Manchester Broughton in Furness Kirkby Ireleth
Brownhill (1828) Blackburn St Mary Burnage St Margaret (1873) Manchester
Burnley St James (1841) Whalley Burnley St Paul (1846) Whalley
Burnley St Peter Whalley Burscough Bridge (1848) Ormskirk
Burton Wood Warrington St Elphin Bury St John Bury St Mary
Bury St Paul (1841) Bury St Mary Cartmel Fell Cartmel
Caton with Littledale Lancaster St Mary Chadderton St John (1846) Prestwich St Mary
Chadderton St Matthew (1837) Prestwich St Mary Chatburn (1838) Whalley
Cheetham Hill St Mark (1794) Manchester Cheetham St Albans (1881) Manchester
Cheetham Hill St Luke (1839) Manchester Cheetham St Luke (1844) Manchester
Chorley St George (1836) Chorley St Laurence Chorley St Peter (1851) Chorley St Laurence
Chorlton cum Hardy (1737) Manchester Chorlton upon Medlock All Saints (1808) Manchester
Chorlton upon Medlock St Ambrose (1884) Manchester Chorlton upon Medlock St Clement (1793) Manchester
Chorlton upon Medlock St Luke (1805) Manchester Chorlton upon Medlock St Matthias (1876) Manchester
Chorlton upon Medlock St Paul (1862) Manchester Chorlton upon Medlock St Saviour (1836) Manchester
Chorlton upon Medlock St Stephen (1854) Manchester Church Coniston Ulverston St Mary
Church Kirk Whalley Clayton St Cross (1857) Manchester
Clayton le Moors (1840) Whalley Clitheroe Whalley
Clitheroe Castle extra-parochial Clitheroe St James (1838) Whalley
Cockersand Abbey extra-parochial Coldhurst (1848) Prestwich St Mary
Collyhurst Albert Memorial (1861) Manchester Collyhurst St Catherine (1859) Manchester
Collyhurst St George in the fields (1877) Manchester Collyhurst St James (1873) Manchester
Collyhurst St Oswald (1855) Manchester Colne Whalley
Colne Christ Church (1836) Whalley Coniston Hawkshead
Copp (Great Eccleston) St Michael on Wyre Coppull (1717) Standish
Crossens (1837) North Meols Croxteth Park extra-parochial
Crumpsall St Mary (1839) Manchester Crumpsall St Thomas (1863) Manchester

D-I

Chapelry (year founded) Ancient Parish Chapelry (year founded) Ancient Parish
Daisyfield St Michael

Daisy Lane (1848)

Blackburn St Mary Daisyfield St Michael

and all Angels (1839)

Blackburn St Mary
Dendron (1773) Aldingham Denton St Lawrence Manchester
Denton St George (1841) Manchester Denton Christ Church (1826) Manchester
Didsbury St James Manchester Dolphinholme Cockerham
Downall Green/Garswood End Winwick Downham Whalley
Droylsden (1848) Manchester East Broughton (Field Broughton) Cartmel
East Crompton Prestwich St Mary Eccleston Christ Church (1838) Prescot
Eccleston St Thomas (1839) Prescot Edenfield Bury St Mary
Edge Hill (1837) Walton on the Hill St Mary Egton cum Newland (1813) Ulverston St Mary
Ellel (1726) Cockerham Ellenbrook (1768) Eccles
Elton Bury St Mary Euxton Leyland
Everton Christ Church (1845) Walton on the Hill St Mary Everton St Augustine (1830) Walton on the Hill St Mary
Everton St George (1814) Walton on the Hill St Mary Everton St Peter (1849) Walton on the Hill St Mary
Failsworth St John (1845) Manchester Farington St Paul (1840) Penwortham St Mary
Farnworth Prescot Farnworth and Kearsley (1826) Deane
Fence-in-Pendle Whalley Feniscowles (Pleasington) Blackburn St Mary
Finsthwaite St Peter (1724) Colton Formby (1748) Walton on the Hill St Mary
Garstang St Thomas (1786) Garstang St Helen Garston (1729) Childwall
Glasson (1840) Lancaster St Mary Glodwick Christ Church (1844) Prestwich St Mary
Golborne Lowton St Luke Goodshaw Whalley
Goosnargh Kirkham Gorton St James Manchester
Great Crosby (1749) Sefton Great Harwood Blackburn St Mary
Great Lever Middleton Great Marsden (1845) Whalley
Great Sankey Prescot Gressingham Lancaster St Mary
Grimsargh Preston St John Habergham All Saints (1845) Whalley
Habergham Eaves (1837) Whalley Haigh and Aspull (1833) Wigan All Saints
Hale Childwall Halewood Childwall
Halliwell St Peter (1840) Deane Harpurhey (1838) Manchester
Harwood (1840) Bolton le Moors St Peter Haslingden Whalley
Haverthwaite (1826) Colton Healey (1847) Rochdale St Chad
Heapey Leyland Heaton Mersey (1850) Manchester
Heaton Norris (1885) Manchester Henheads extra-parochial
Hey Ashton under Lyne St Michael Heyhouses Whalley
Heywood St Luke Bury St Mary Heywood St James (1838) Bury St Mary
Hindley Wigan All Saints Hoghton Leyland
Holcombe Bury St Mary Hollinfare Warrington St Elphin
Hollinwood Prestwich St Mary Holme Island extra-parochial
Holme St John Whalley Hornby Melling
Horwich Deane Hulme Christ Church (1835) Manchester
Hulme St George (1828) Manchester Hulme St Mark (1846) Manchester
Hulme St Philip (1859) Manchester Hundersfield Rochdale St Chad
Hurst (1849) Ashton under Lyne St Michael Hurst Green (1839) Mitton
Inskip (1848) St Michael on Wyre

K-M

Chapelry (year founded) Ancient Parish Chapelry (year founded) Ancient Parish
Kersall Moor (1852) Manchester Kirkby Walton on the Hill St Mary
Kirkdale St Mary (1835) Walton on the Hill St Mary Knotty Ash St John (1836) Walton on the Hill St Mary
Knowsley (1843) Huyton Lancaster Castle extra-parochial
Lancaster St Anne (1796) Lancaster St Mary Lancaster St John (1755) Lancaster St Mary
Lancaster St Thomas (1844) Lancaster St Mary Lane Bridge (1849) Whalley
Langho Blackburn St Mary Latchford St James (1796) Grappenhall (Cheshire)
Lathom St James (1851) Ormskirk Leck (1800) Tunstall
Leesfield (1846) Ashton under Lyne St Michael Levenshulme (1854) Manchester
Lever Bridge (1844) Bolton le Moors St Peter Lindale Cartmel
Litherland Christ Church (1842) Sefton Little Bolton All Saints (1796) Bolton le Moors St Peter
Little Bolton St John (1846) Bolton le Moors St Peter Little Crosby Sefton
Little Hulton Deane Little Lever Bolton le Moors St Peter
Little Marsden Whalley Littleborough Rochdale St Chad
Littledale (1873) Lancaster St Mary Liverpool All Saints (1815) Liverpool
Liverpool All Souls (1847) Liverpool Liverpool Blessed Virgin Mary (1819) Liverpool
Liverpool Christ Church (1797) Liverpool Liverpool Holy Innocents (1854) Liverpool
Liverpool Holy Trinity (1792) Liverpool Liverpool St Andrew (1774) Liverpool
Liverpool St Anne (1772) Liverpool Liverpool St Barnabas (1841) Liverpool
Liverpool St Bartholomew (1841) Liverpool Liverpool St Bride (1831) Liverpool
Liverpool St Catherine (1831) Liverpool Liverpool St David (1827) Liverpool
Liverpool St George (1734) Liverpool Liverpool St John (1784) Liverpool
Liverpool St Jude (1831) Liverpool Liverpool St John the Evangelist (1832) Liverpool
Liverpool St Luke (1831) Liverpool Liverpool St Mark (1803) Liverpool
Liverpool St Martin in the Fields (1828) Liverpool Liverpool St Matthew (1798) Liverpool
Liverpool St Matthias (1834) Liverpool Liverpool St Michael (1826) Liverpool
Liverpool St Paul (1769) Liverpool Liverpool St Philip (1816) Liverpool
Liverpool St Saviour (1839) Liverpool Liverpool St Silas (1841) Liverpool
Liverpool St Simon (1831) Liverpool Liverpool St Stephen (1792) Liverpool
Liverpool St Thomas (1750) Liverpool Longridge Ribchester
Longsight St John (1846) Manchester Longton (1719) Penwortham St Mary
Lower Darwen St James (1829) Blackburn St Mary Lowick (1718) Ulverston St Mary
Lumb (1846) Whalley Lund Kirkham
Lydgate St Anne (1788) Rochdale St Chad Lydiate (1841) Halsall
Lytham St John (1849) Lytham St Cuthbert Maghull Lytham St Cuthbert
Manchester St Ann (1736) Manchester Manchester St Barnabas (1842) Manchester
Manchester St George (1798) Manchester Manchester St James (1784) Manchester
Manchester St John Manchester Manchester St Mary (1756) Manchester
Manchester St Matthew Campfield (1826) Manchester Manchester St Michael (1789) Manchester
Manchester St Paul (1765) Manchester Manchester St Peter (1794) Manchester
Manchester St Peter, Oldham Rd (1860) Manchester Marton St Paul (1751) Poulton le Fylde
Mawdesley with Bispham (1840) Croston Melling (near Liverpool) Halsall
Mellor Blackburn St Mary Mellor Brook (1836) Blackburn St Mary
Miles Platting St Barnabas (1844) Manchester Milnrow Rochdale St Chad
Mossley (1755) Ashton under Lyne St Michael Moss Side (1850) Manchester
Much Woolton Childwall Musbury Whalley

N-S

Chapelry (year founded) Ancient Parish Chapelry (year founded) Ancient Parish
Newchurch in Pendle Whalley Newchurch in Rossendale Whalley
Newton All Saints Manchester Newton in Makerfield Emmanuel Newton in Makerfield St Peter
Oldham St James Prestwich St Mary Oldham St Mary Prestwich St Mary
Oldham St Peter Prestwich St Mary Openshaw St Barnabas (1839) Manchester
Ordsall St Clement (1877) Manchester Oswaldtwistle (1837) Whalley
Out Rawcliffe (1838) St Michael on Wyre Over Darwen St James Blackburn St Mary
Over Darwen St John (1864) Blackburn St Mary Over Darwen St Peter/Holy Trinity (1828) Blackburn St Mary
Over Kellet Bolton le Sands Overton Lancaster St Mary
Paddington St Paul (1846) Eccles St Mary Padgate (1839) Warrington St Elphin
Padiham Whalley Parr Prescot
Peel (1760) Deane Pemberton (1832) Wigan All Saints
Pendlebury St John (1842) Eccles St Mary Pendleton All Saints Whalley
Pendleton (near Salford) St Thomas Eccles St Mary Pendleton Hall extra-parochial
Pilling Garstang St Helen Poulton le Sands Lancaster St Mary
Preston All Saints Preston St John Preston Christ Church (1831) Preston St John
Preston Holy Trinity (1815) Preston St John Preston St George Preston St John
Preston St James Preston St John Preston St Mary Preston St John
Preston St Paul Preston St John Preston St Peter Preston St John
Preston St Wilfrid Preston St John Quernmore Lancaster St Mary
Radcliffe St Thomas (1819) Radcliffe St Mary Rainford Prescot
Rainhill Prescot Rampside Dalton in Furness
Ramsbottom (1850) Bury St Mary Rawtenstall Whalley
Reddish (1860) Manchester Reedley Hallows Whalley, Lancashire, Genealogy
Ribby cum Wrea Kirkham Ringley Prestwich St Mary
Rivington Bolton le Moors St Peter Royton Prestwich St Mary
Rusholme Manchester Rusland Colton
Salesbury Blackburn St Mary Salford Sacred Trinity Manchester
Salford Christ Church (1830) Manchester Salford St Bartholomew Manchester
Salford St Matthias (1842) Manchester Salford St Philip (1825) Manchester
Salford St Simon (1825) Manchester Salford St Stephen (1794) Manchester
Salford St George Charlestown (1825) Manchester Salford Stowell Memorial (1869) Manchester
Salford St Luke (Weaste) Manchester Salford St Clement (1881) Manchester
Salford St John the Evangelist (1837) Manchester Samlesbury Blackburn St Mary
Sandowne-Park (1849) Childwall Satterthwaite Hawkshead
Scarisbrick Ormskirk Seaforth Sefton
Seathwaite Kirkby Ireleth Shaw Prestwich St Mary
Shireshead Cockerham Shuttleworth Bury St Mary
Silverdale Warton Singleton Kirkham
Skelmersdale Ormskirk Skerton Lancaster St Mary
Smallbridge Rochdale St Chad South Shore Holy Trinity (1836) Bispham
Southport Christ Church (1824) North Meols Southport Holy Trinity (1837) North Meols
Spotland Rochdale St Chad St Helens Prescot
Stalmine St James Lancaster St Mary Stalybridge New St George (1841) Ashton under Lyne St Michael
Stalybridge Old St George Ashton under Lyne St Michael Stand (Whitefield) All Saints (1827) Prestwich St Mary
Staveley Cartmel Stidd Ribchester
Stretford St Matthew Manchester Sutton (1849) Prescot
Swinton Eccles St Mary

T-Z

Chapelry (year founded) Ancient Parish Chapelry (year founded) Ancient Parish
Tatham Fells (1737) Tatham Thornton (1836) Poulton le Fylde
Tockholes (1725) Blackburn St Mary Todmorden St Mary Rochdale St Chad
Tonge Bolton le Moors St Peter Tonge cum Alkrington (1842) Prestwich St Mary
Torver (1747) Ulverston St Mary Tottington Bury St Mary
Tottington Higher End (1802) Bury St Mary Toxteth Park St Bride (1831) Liverpool
Toxteth Park St Clement (1841) Liverpool Toxteth Park St James (1775) Liverpool
Toxteth Park St John (1832) Liverpool Toxteth Park St Michael (1815) Liverpool
Toxteth Park St Paul (1849) Liverpool Toxteth Park St Saviour (1849) Liverpool
Toxteth Park St Thomas (1817) Liverpool Trafford (Old) Manchester
Trawden (1845) Whalley Turton Bolton le Moors St Peter
Tydesley cum Shakerley (1827) Leigh Ulverston Holy Trinity (1832) Ulverston St Mary
Unsworth (1730) Prestwich St Mary Upholland Wigan All Saints
Urmston Manchester Victoria Park Manchester
Walmersley Bury St Mary Walmsley Bolton le Moors St Peter
Walney Dalton in Furness Walsden Rochdale St Chad
Walton le Dale Blackburn St Mary Walton Breck Walton on the Hill St Mary
Wardle St James (1859) Rochdale St Chad Wardleworth St James (1821) Rochdale St Chad
Wardleworth St Mary Rochdale St Chad Warrington Christ Church (1839) Warrington St Elphin
Warrington Holy Trinity Warrington St Elphin Warrington St Paul Warrington St Elphin
Warton Kirkham Waterhead (1843) Prestwich St Mary
Wavertree Holy Trinity Childwall Weeton Kirkham
Werneth Prestwich St Mary West Derby St Mary Walton on the Hill St Mary
West Houghton Deane Westleigh St Paul (1848) Leigh
Whalley Range (1849) Manchester Whitechapel Kirkham
Whitewell Whalley Whittle le Woods Leyland
Whitworth Rochdale St Chad Wigan St Catherine (1841) Wigan All Saints
Wigan St George Wigan All Saints Withington Manchester
Withnell Leyland Woodland Kirkby Ireleth
Witton Blackburn St Mary Woodplumpton St Michael on Wyre
Worsley Eccles St Mary Worsthorne Whalley
Wray Melling Wyresdale Lancaster St Mary
Yate and Pickup Bank extra-parochial Yealand Conyers Warton