To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Lamorran, Cornwall Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Lamorran, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lamorran, Cornwall
Lamorran st moran Cornwall.jpg
Lamorran st moran Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Powder
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Truro
Registration District Truro
Records begin
Parish registers: 1572
Bishop's Transcripts: 1621
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Powder
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

LAMORRAN (St. Moran), a parish, in the union of Truro, W. division of the hundred of Powder and of the county of Cornwall, 4 miles (S. W. by W.) from Tregony. [1]
Lamorran St Moran is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cornwall.Other places in the parish include: Tresillian.

Lamorran church was built in the mid-13th century and has never been enlarged. It was dedicated (to St Moran) in 1261 and restored unsympathetically in 1845 (by William White) and 1853 (for Lord Falmouth; Evelyn Boscawen, 6th Viscount Falmouth). The tower is separate from the church and the font of Catacleuse stone may be Norman (or 15th century work in the Norman style).

A large monument of 1658 commemorates John Verman and his wife. The churchyard cross is a fine example of a Gothic stone cross.

The parish is now part of the Lamorran with Merther, Tresillian and St. Michael Penkivel Team Ministry in the Diocese of Truro.

The condition of this church is a cause for local and national concern. English Heritage have assisted in some restoration work. In 2003, the detached tower was restored,and re glazing some windows in the church, replacement wooden window frames and conserving the Lord’s Prayer and creed plaques.The church has some important slate plaques of the seventeenth century. Unless action is taken the threat of closure of the church increases with time.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Lamorran parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cornwall Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Mar = England, Devon and Cornwall Marriages, 1660-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
OPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerk - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Cornwall Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Cornwall Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Lamorran Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2010
1538-2010
1538-2010
FS Mar

1660-1912


FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
OPC 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1916
1538-1839
1538-1928
TGEN 1540-1800s
1537-1800s


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cornwall Record Office.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.

The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Lamorran.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Truro Poor Law Union

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites[edit | edit source]

Lamorran in GENUKI

http://www.achurchnearyou.com/lamorran-st-moran/ for information about the parish

http://cornwallinscriptions.co.uk/html/lamorran__87_.html Cornwall Inscriptions website for history of church

http://www.britishlistedbuildings.co.uk/en-62875-church-of-st-moren-st-michael-penkevil British listed building

http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50641#s3 British History online

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 6-17. Date accessed: 18 March 2013.
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Cornwall) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk