Lamoille County, Vermont Genealogy
Guide to Lamoille County, Vermont ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Lamoille County, Vermont|
Location in the state of Vermont
|Founded||October 26, 1835|
|County Seat||Hyde Park|
|Address|| Lamoille County Courthouse|
P.O. Box 303
Hyde Park , VT 05655-0303
Lamoille County Website
- 1 Description
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
The County was named for Lamoille River. The County is located in the north center area of the state. 
County Clerk has divorce and court records from 1837; Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death, burial and land records; Probate Judge has probate records.
Towns Organized Before 1800:
Hyde Park 1781
Johnson 1792br>Morristown 1763
Wolcott 1781 
For animated maps illustrating Vermont County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Vermont County Boundary Maps" (1764-1895) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
Villages: • Cambridge • Hyde Park • Jeffersonville • Johnson • Morrisville
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|VTGenWeb Archives||WorldCat||Billion Graves|
|See Vermont Cemeteries for more information.|
LDS Ward and Branch Records
Land and Property
Regiments and Companies:
Online Probate Records
- 1749 - 1999 Vermont Wills and Probate Records 1749-1999 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1800 - 1921 Vermont Probate Files 1800-1921 at FamilySearch — images
- 1732 - 2005 Vermont, Town Clerk, Vital and Town Records, 1732-2005 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1850 - 2005 Vermont, Town Records, 1850-2005 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Birth Certificate,
- Marriage Certificate ,
- Divorce Certificate,
- Civil Union Dissolution Certificate, or
- Death Certificate
Downloadable applications from Vermont Department of Health.
Societies and Libraries
Cambridge Historical Society
49 School Street
PO Box 16
Jeffersonville, VT 05464
Eden Historical Society
PO Box 33
Eden, VT 05652
Telephone: 802-635-2590 or 802-635-7269
Elmore Historical Society
VT Route 12
PO Box 123
Lake Elmore, VT 05657
Johnson Historical Society
Main and Pearl Streets
PO Box 393
Johnson, VT 05656
Morristown Historical Society
Noyes House Museum
122 Main Street
MPO Box 1299
Morrisville, VT 05661
Lamoille County Historical Societies
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Lamoille County, VT History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Vermont Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Vermont Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch Catalog FamilySearch Catalog for Lamoille County
- The Lamoille County VTGenWeb Project, a member of The VTGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Lamoille County
- Wikipedia contributors, "Lamoille, Vermont" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lamoille_County,_Vermont accessed 6 Dec 2018
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 699. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists, 181.
- Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 395. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.