Lamoille County, Vermont Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Lamoille County, Vermont)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Vermont
Lamoille County

Guide to Lamoille County, Vermont ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}

Lamoille County, Vermont
Map
Map of Vermont highlighting Lamoille County
Location in the state of Vermont
Facts
Founded October 26, 1835
County Seat Hyde Park
Courthouse
VermontLamoilleCourthouse.jpg
Address Lamoille County Courthouse
P.O. Box 303
Hyde Park , VT 05655-0303
802-888-2207
Lamoille County Website


County Courthouse

County Clerk has divorce and court records from 1837; Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death, burial and land records; Probate Judge has probate records.

Towns Organized Before 1800:
Cambridge 1781
Elmore 1781
Hyde Park 1781
Johnson 1792br>Morristown 1763
Stowe 1763
Wolcott 1781 [1]

History

Parent County

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Vermont County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Vermont County Boundary Maps" (1764-1895) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

Towns

Extinct Towns:MansfieldSterling [3]

Villages: • Cambridge • Hyde Park • Jeffersonville • Johnson • Morrisville

Neighboring Counties

Caledonia | Chittenden | Franklin | Orleans | Washington

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
VTGenWeb Archives WorldCat Billion Graves
VTTombstone Project
VTInterment
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Vermont Cemeteries for more information.

Church Records

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Morrisville

Court Records

Gazetteers

Land and Property

Local Histories

Maps

Lamoille County

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments and Companies:

- 5th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Company D
- 13th Regiment, Vermont Infantry

Newspapers

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Vermont Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for the following Vermont certificates:

Downloadable applications from Vermont Department of Health.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Vermont Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Historical Societies

Cambridge Historical Society
49 School Street
PO Box 16
Jeffersonville, VT 05464
Telephone: 802-644-5675
E-mail:info@cambridgehistoricalsociety.org
Website

Eden Historical Society
PO Box 33
Eden, VT 05652
Telephone: 802-635-2590 or 802-635-7269
E-mail:ddwhitcomb@myfairpoint.net

Elmore Historical Society
VT Route 12
PO Box 123
Lake Elmore, VT 05657
Telephone: 802-888-3618
E-mail:cricket@pshift.com

Johnson Historical Society
Masonic Temple
Main and Pearl Streets
PO Box 393
Johnson, VT 05656
Telephone: 802-653-741
Website

Morristown Historical Society
Noyes House Museum
122 Main Street
MPO Box 1299
Morrisville, VT 05661
Telephone: 802-888-7617
E-mail:noyeshousemuseum@gmail.com
Website

Lamoille County Historical Societies
Website

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 699. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists, 181.
  3. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 395. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.