Lambton County, Ontario Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Lambton County, Ontario)
Jump to: navigation, search
Ontario Research Topics
Ontario Flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Ontario Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Ontario
Lambton County

Guide to Lambton County ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Map of Ontario Lambton.png

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

History

Parent County

Lambton started as par to the District of Hesse which was later included with Kent county and in 1849 the districts were abolished and the County of Lambton was formed. At first Lambton and Kent shared the capital city of Sandwich later renamed Windsor, this was ended in 1852. 

Neighboring Counties

Lambton County is in Southwestern Ontario. It is bordered on the north by Lake Huron, Middlesex County is on the eastern border, while Chatham-Kent County is to the South. Lambton County is bordered by the United States - County of Michigan.  


Civil Registration

Birth

Marriage

Death


Writing for a More Recent Birth, Marriage, or Death Record

  • ServiceOntario, Birth Records is the only government-authorized source for obtaining birth certificates. Go to the section entitled "Order a Birth Search". This is the most economical, searches the widest time period, and allows searches for people not immediately related. A letter of information is provided rather than a certificate.
  • ServiceOntario, Marriage Records offers a marriage search option and a historical certificate option.
  • ServiceOntario, Death Records offers a death search option and a historical certificate option. Also official death certificates are available to a wider range of relatives than birth and marriage certificates.

FamilySearch Library Microfilmed Records

Some of the church/civil records have been microfilmed by FamilySearch.These microfilms may be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers around the world. To find a microfilm:

a. Click on records for Canada, Ontario, Lambton County. You will see a list of available records for the county.
b. You will also see above the list the link Places within Canada, Ontario, Lambton County. This will take you to a list of towns in the counties, which are links to records for the specific town.
c. Click on any topic. Click on the blue links to specific record titles.
d. Some combination of these icons will appear at the far right of the microfilm listed for the record. FHL icons.png. The magnifying glass indicates that the microfilm is indexed. Clicking on the magnifying glass will take you to the index. Clicking on the camera will take you to an online digital copy of the microfilm.

Census Records


Year Census Links

1800-1842

Ontario and Nova Scotia Census, 1800-1842

Ancestry $

1851

Canada Census, 1851

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry $

1861

Census of Canada, 1861

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry $

1871

Census of Canada, 1871

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry $

1881

Census of Canada, 1881

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry $

1891

Census of Canada, 1891

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry $

1901

Census of Canada, 1901

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com $

1911

Census of Canada, 1911

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry $

1921

Census of Canada, 1921

Ancestry $

Church Records

Church records can include baptisms, marriages, burials, membership lists, financial business, and other records for a particular congregation. They may be available online or on microfilm, but frequently they are still with the local church or in centralized archives by religion. The Canadian census records asked for the religion of those listed, so you will be able to narrow down which archives to consult. For help with writing a letter requesting copies of records, see Letter Writing Guide for Genealogy.

Online Church Records

These records are incomplete.

($).

Cemetery Records

See, Ontario Cemeteries for information on cemetery record collections not yet digitized, but available in published sources and on microfilm.

Online Cemetery Records

Populated Places Table


1 2 3 4 5

POPULATED PLACE

FORMER NAME, if applicable TYPE

FHL CATALOG

WIKIPEDIA

 Alvinston       Link   Link
 Arkona         Link   Link
 Aughrim        Link   Link
 Blackwell        Link   Link
 Bosanquet   Township     Link   Link
 Bradshaw       Link   Link
 Brigden       Link   Link
 Brights Grove       Link   Link
 Brooke    Township     Link   Link
 Bunyan       Link   Link
 Camlachie          Link   Link
 Clearwater      Link   Link
 Copleston          Link   Link
 Corunna         Link   Link
 Dawn   Township     Link   Link 
 Duthill       Link   Link
 Enniskillen   Township     Link     Link
 Euphemia   Township     Link  Link
 Florence       Link   Link
 Forest        Link   Link
 Froomefield        Link     Link
 Glen Rae        Link   Link
 Grand Bend       Link   Link
 Hillsborough Beach        Link   Link
 Inwood       Link   Link
 Maxwell        Link   Link
 Moore    Township     Link   Link
 Mooretown       Link   Link
 Oil City        Link   Link
 Oil Springs         Link   Link
 Ossian        Link   Link
 Petrolia        Link   Link
 Plympton    Township      Link     Link
 Point Edward       Link   Link
 Port Lambton        Link   Link
 Port Sarnia        Link   Link
 Ravenswood       Link   Link
 Sarnia        Link   Link
 Sarnia    Township     Link   Link
 Shetland       Link   Link
 Sombra         Link   Link  
 Sombra     Township     Link      Link
 Thedford       Link   Link
 Walpole Island          Link     Link
 Warwick        Link   Link
 Warwick    Township     Link   Link
 Watford       Link   Link
 Wilkesport       Link   Link
 Wisbeach       Link   Link
 Wyoming       Link   Link
 ANY NEW LOCATIONS IN FHL CATALOG???       Link  

Websites

The Forebears website will give you an extensive list of websites that could have information for people who lived in this county. Some sites cover just the county, some cover all of Ontario, and some cover all of Canada. Some sites are databases of names and facts about people; other sites cover background information such as maps, history, geography, or genealogy strategies and methods for the region.

History

Parent County

Lambton started as par to the District of Hesse which was later included with Kent county and in 1849 the districts were abolished and the County of Lambton was formed. At first Lambton and Kent shared the capital city of Sandwich later renamed Windsor, this was ended in 1852. 

Neighboring Counties

Lambton County is in Southwestern Ontario. It is bordered on the north by Lake Huron, Middlesex County is on the eastern border, while Chatham-Kent County is to the South. Lambton County is bordered by the United States - County of Michigan.