Lambourne with Abridge, Essex Genealogy
Guide to Lambourne with Abridge, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Lambourne with Abridge, Essex|
St Mary & All Saints Lambourne Essex
|Poor Law Union||Ongar|
|Parish registers: 1582|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1629|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex|
|Location of Archive|
|Essex Record Office|
Lambourne, is a village and a parish in Ongar district, Essex. The village is near Hainault forest, 1 1/4 miles SE of the river Roding, 3 1/2 miles ES of Loughton railway station, and 5 miles NNW of Romford. The parish contains the village of Abridge. It is united with the chapelry of Abridge. There is an Independent chapel.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Lambourne with Abridge, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)|
|FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free|
|TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)|
|Lambourne with Abridge, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Vestry minute-books for Lambourne survive for the periods 1671-1764 and 1810-45.
In 1836 Lambourne became part of the Ongar Poor Law Union. 
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Lambourne on GENUKI
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870). Adapted: date accessed 20 May 2013.
- Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 5 September 2014.
- 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.
- From: 'Lambourne: Parish government and poor relief', A History of the County of Essex: Volume 4: Ongar Hundred (1956), pp. 84-85. British History Date accessed: 06 February 2011.