To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Lambe's Chapel, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St Giles without Cripplegate
Lambe's Chapel

London Lambe's Chapel ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

"Lamb's Chapel is situated in a court at the northwest corner of Monkwell Street, and was found in the reign of Edward I. At the dissolution of religious houses, Henry VIII granted it to William Lambe, a rich citizen and clothworker, who bequeathed it in 1568, with other property, to the Clothworkers Company, of which he was a member.  It has been recently rebuilt with a row of alms houses by the company."[1]


Lamb's Chapel, is at the north-west corner of Monkwell Street, Cripplegate Ward and Farmingdon within. It was founded by William Lamb, a cloth worker, to whom Henry VIII granted the site of St James' Chapel in the Wall.[2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

Lambe's Chapel parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[3]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
Lambe's Chapel Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1618-1753 1618-1753 1618-1753 1618-1753 1618-1753 1618-1753
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


FS Catalog PRs
1618-1753
1618-1753
1618-1753

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

St Giles without Cripplegate.png

Websites[edit | edit source]

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, M.R. I. A., Architect, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digital version: Google Books.
  2. Harben, Henry A A Dictionary of London 1918 Adapted. Date accessed: 26 November 20013.
  3. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.