Lake County, Oregon Genealogy
Guide to Lake County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Lake County, Oregon|
Location in the state of Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
|Founded||October 24, 1874|
|Address||Lake County Courthouse|
513 Center Street
Lakeview, Or 97630
Lake County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 Lake County, Oregon Record Dates
- 3 County Courthouse
- 4 Historical Facts
- 5 Places / Localities
- 6 Resources
- 6.1 Archives and Libraries
- 6.2 Cemeteries
- 6.3 Census
- 6.4 Church History and Records
- 6.5 Court Records
- 6.6 Gazetteers
- 6.7 History
- 6.8 Land and Property
- 6.9 Maps
- 6.10 Military History and Records
- 6.11 Newspapers
- 6.12 Probate Records
- 6.13 Rivers and Waterways
- 6.14 Taxation
- 6.15 Vital Records
- 7 Societies, Libraries and Museums
- 8 Websites
- 9 Lake County Oregon Genealogy References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for the many lakes found within its boundaries. The County is located in the south central area of the state. 
Lake County, Oregon Record Dates[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
County Clerk has marriage and land records.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, probate and court records. 
County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Lake County Court House as of July 2009.
Lake County Court is structured differently. Check the County Records Inventory link for addresses for location of records (left column).
- Record Loss:
Historical Facts[edit | edit source]
Trivia Tidbits: Little biographic bits associated with the names of non-population localities.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
17 October 1882: Part taken for Klamath County.
For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
The following are locations in the county:
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator
- Adel: Adel is a post office on Deep Creek where it debouches into Warner Valley. C. A. Moore, in a communication in the Oregonian, on Sept. 18, 1926, says the office was named by Bert Sessions, who owned the land where it was first established in 1896. He named it for a former sweetheart. A more intriguing source is suggested by Judge Virgil Langtry of Portland who states that Mrs. Jacob Messner, an early settler in the Warner Valley, had recalled to her grandchildren that the name was a compliment to Leda, a cow of many virtues belonging to a local resident. Since the spelling was reversed, one can only assume the compliment was back-handed. FamilySearch Catalog
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Trivia Tidbits[edit | edit source]
Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits
Resources[edit | edit source]
Archives and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|ORGenWeb Archives||WorldCat||Billion Graves|
|See Oregon Cemeteries for more information.|
Census[edit | edit source]
Church History and Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military History and Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - Oregon, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1919-1920 - Oregon, World War I, County Military Service Records, 1919-1920 at FamilySearch — index
- 1921-1938 - Oregon, World War I, Veteran State Aid Applications, 1921-1938 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
[Oregon Online Historical Newspapers] - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Rivers and Waterways[edit | edit source]
Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Delayed Birth Certificates
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
- 1826-1975 - Oregon, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1849-1884; 1991-2006 - Oregon Marriage Index, 1849-1884; 1991-2006 at FamilySearch — index and images; collection is incomplete.
- Extractions of early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index
- Marriage Index 1885-1896 Actually is a book of affiants reporting the marriages. Historical Records Collection
Death Records[edit | edit source]
Societies, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]
Lake County Historical Society
118 South E St
Lake County Historical Society
35 S. "G" St.
PO Box 48
Lakeview, OR 97630-1721
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
- Lakeview Oregon Family History Center
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Lake County, OR History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Oregon Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- The Lake County GenWeb Project part of The ORGenWeb Project
- The USGenWeb Archives Project
- The USGenWeb Archives Project (Backup site)
Lake County Oregon Genealogy References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Lake, Oregon" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lake_County,_Oregon accessed 27 Nov 2018
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lake County, Oregon . Page 572-574 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 563-564.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Klamath County, Oregon page 573, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- WorldCat 50140092; FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
- Wikipedia contributors, "Lake County, Oregon," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lake_County,_Oregon, accessed 13 October 2018.