Lake County, Oregon Genealogy
Guide to Lake County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Lake County, Oregon|
Location in the state of Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
|Founded||October 24, 1874|
|Address|| Lake County Courthouse|
513 Center Street
Lakeview, Or 97630
Lake County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 Historical Facts
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Archives and Libraries
- 5.2 Cemeteries
- 5.3 Census
- 5.4 Church History and Records
- 5.5 Court Records
- 5.6 Gazetteers
- 5.7 History
- 5.8 Land and Property
- 5.9 Maps
- 5.10 Military History and Records
- 5.11 Newspapers
- 5.12 Probate Records
- 5.13 Rivers and Waterways
- 5.14 Taxation
- 5.15 Vital Records
- 6 Societies, Libraries and Museums
- 7 Websites
- 8 Lake County Oregon Genealogy References
The County was named for the many lakes found within its boundaries. The County is located in the south central area of the state. 
Lake County, Oregon Record Dates
County Clerk has marriage and land records.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, probate and court records. 
County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Lake County Court House as of July 2009.
Lake County Court is structured differently. Check the County Records Inventory link for addresses for location of records (left column).
- Record Loss:
Trivia Tidbits: Little biographic bits associated with the names of non-population localities.
17 October 1882: Part taken for Klamath County.
For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
The following are locations in the county:
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator
Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits
Archives and Libraries
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|ORGenWeb Archives||WorldCat||Billion Graves|
|See Oregon Cemeteries for more information.|
- 1875 State Original
Church History and Records
Land and Property
Military History and Records
- 1861-1865 - Oregon, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I
- 1921-1938 - Oregon, World War I, Veteran State Aid Applications, 1921-1938 at FamilySearch — index and images
[Online Historical Newspapers] - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
Rivers and Waterways
Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways
See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.
Delayed Birth Certificates
- 1826-1975 - Oregon, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- Extractions of early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index
- Marriage Index 1885-1896 Actually is a book of affiants reporting the marriages. Historical Records Collection
Societies, Libraries and Museums
Lake County Historical Society
118 South E St
Lake County Historical Society
35 S. "G" St.
PO Box 48
Lakeview, OR 97630-1721
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Lake County, OR History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Oregon Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Oregon Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- The Lake County GenWeb Project part of The ORGenWeb Project
- The USGenWeb Archives Project
- The USGenWeb Archives Project (Backup site)
Lake County Oregon Genealogy References
- Wikipedia contributors, "Lake, Oregon" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lake_County,_Oregon accessed 27 Nov 2018
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Klamath County, Oregon page 573, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- WorldCat 50140092; FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
- Wikipedia contributors, "Lake County, Oregon," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lake_County,_Oregon, accessed 13 October 2018.