Lafayette County, Mississippi Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Mississippi
Lafayette County

Guide to Lafayette County, Mississippi ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Oxford
Organized: 9 February 1836
Parent County(s): Chickasaw Cession[1]
Neighboring Counties
Calhoun  • Marshall  • Panola  • Pontotoc  • Tate  • Union  • Yalobusha
See County Maps
Courthouse
MississippiLaFayetteCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Lafayette County.svg.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

This county was named for Marquis de Lafayette. Lafayette County is located in the north-central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Lafayette County Courthouse
Town Square
P.O. Box 1240
Oxford, MS 38655
Phone: 662-234-2131
Lafayette County Website

Clerk Chancery Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records.[3]

Lafayette County, Mississippi Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1 Nov 1912 1850 1 Nov 1912 1836 1836 1836 1810
Statewide registration started in Nov 1912 for births and deaths. General compliance by 1921.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1836 Lafayette County was created 9 February 1836 from the Chickasaw Cession.
  • County seat: Oxford[5]

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Lafayette County, Mississippi:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Lafayette County, Mississippi online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Mississippi Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

For tips on accessing Lafayette County census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lafayette County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Tate CountyMarshall CountyUnion CountyPontotoc CountyCalhoun CountyYalobusha CountyPanola CountyMS LAFAYETTE.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Lafayette County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lafayette County:

- 1st Battalion, Mississippi Cavalry (Miller's)
Company A - Mississippi Rifles
- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company B - Thompson Cavalry
- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company E - Polk Rangers
- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (Johnston's)
Company G - Dave Rogers Rifles
- 2nd Regiment, Mississippi Partisans (Also known as 2nd Partisan Rangers Cavalry/Ballentine’s)
Company G - Martin’s Company
- 3rd Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company C - Logan’s Company
Company D - Gwartney’s Company
Company H - Kilgore Rangers
Company I - Webb’s Rangers
- 4th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company K - Bowles’ Company, aka McEwen’s Company
- 4th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company D - Paris Rebels
- 9th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (Old)
Company C - Lafayette Guards
- 11th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company A - University Greys
Company G - Lamar Rifles

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Lafayette County, Mississippi Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Lafayette County, Mississippi Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Lafayette County Historical and Genealogical Society
    Lafayette County and Oxford Public Library
    401 Bramlett Blvd.
    P. O. Box 1382
    Oxford, MS 38655
    Website
  • Skipwith Historical & Genealogical Society, Inc.
    P.O. Box 1382
    Oxford, MS 38655

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Lafayette, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lafayette_County,_Mississippi."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lafayette County, Mississippi . Page 378-384 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 379-381.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.