Lafayette County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Lafayette County
 

Guide to Lafayette County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Lewisville
Organized: October 15, 1827
Parent County(s): Hempstead[1]
Neighboring Counties
Bossier (LA)  • Caddo (LA)  • Columbia  • Hempstead  • Miller  • Nevada  • Webster (LA)
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasLafayetteCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-lafayette.png
Adoption
Red River meanders in Lafayette and Miller Counties, Arkansas

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Lafayette County Courthouse
2 Courthouse Square
Lewisville, AR 71845
Phone: 870.921.4633
Lafayette County Website

County Clerk has marriage records from 1848 and probate records;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and land records.[2]

Lafayette County, Arkansas

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1828 1914* 1828 1828 1828
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1827--Lafayette County was created 15 October 1827 from Hempstead County.  
  • County seat: Lewisville[4]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Lafayette County, Arkansas:

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Lafayette County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [5]

  • 1800s (early) - Identification of specific European explorers and settlers in the future Lafayette County area of the Louisiana Purchase is difficult.
  • 1815 - The New Madrid Earthquakes and the War of 1812 prompted President James Monroe to survey and offer lands from the Louisiana Purchase to veterans and displaced farmers.
  • 1826 - The first years for the settlers on Long Prairie were especially difficult with uncomfortable wilderness conditions afflicting the community. Many pulled up stakes and move 100 miles to the east.
  • 1827 October 15 - Lafayette County was organized.
  • 1861-1865 - Like most areas in the South, Lafayette County was devastated by the Civil War.
  • 1865-1877 - The most significant change during this period may have been the proliferation of family farms.
  • 1880s - Another dramatic change of the era was the arrival of the railroad.
  • 1900-1940s - The first four decades of the twentieth century saw both prosperity and depression. Banks failed, mortgagers foreclosed, properties were lost, and crop values plummeted.
  • 1930-2010 - The population of Lafayettte County hit its high mark in 1930 at 16,900 and is now (2010) at less than half that number at 7,600

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Lafayette, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1828-1925 Lafayette County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration bonds 1859-1905; Letters of administration and guardianship 1859-1906; Miscellaneous probate records 1844-1858; Probate records 1828-1897; Wills 1846-1925.

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Southern Arkansas. Chicago, IL, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1890. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps and Gazetteers

Click on a neighboring county to go to the wiki page.
Lafayette CountyMiller CountyColumbia CountyNevada CountyHempstead CountyLittle River CountySevier CountyHoward CountyClark CountyOauchita CountyCaddo ParishBossier ParishWebster ParishClaiborne ParishBowie CountyCass CountyMarion CountyHarrison CountyMcCurtain CountyARLafayette.JPG

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Lafayette County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 6th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 19th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Dockery's) (Confederate)
- 20th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company K
- 26th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company G
- Abraham's Company, Arkansas Mounted Volunteers (State Troops) (Confederate)
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[6], Company I

Online Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lafayette County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb . Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Glynn McCalman, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=781&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent= : accessed January 14, 2016), “Lafayette County.”
  6. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  7. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.