To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

La Unión, Zacapa, Guatemala Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Municipality of La Unión ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.

History[edit | edit source]

  • Between the years of 1860 and 1870, a community of Ch'orti 'indigenous people that came from the municipalities of Jocotán and Camotán in the department of Chiquimula began to settle in the eastern part of the department of Zacapa.
  • On February 3, 1904 it was upgraded to the Municipality category with the name of Estrada Cabrera Municipality, in the department of Chiquimula.
  • He joined the government department of Zacapa on March 9, 1907.
  • On May 3, 1920 it changed to its current name of La Union.
  • The municipality of La Unión has a population of approximately 30,000 people[1]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Catalog English.jpg

Parish Records[edit | edit source]

  • There are no records for only the municipality of La Unión. See the records of neighboring municipalities.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • There are no records for only the municipality of La Unión. See the records of neighboring municipalities.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

  • Cementerio Municipal de La Union

Localities[edit | edit source]

  • Agua Fria
  • Campanario
  • Capucal
  • Cari
  • Corozal
  • Cumbre Alta
  • Guaranja
  • La Jigua
  • Joconal
  • La Laguna
  • Lampocoy
  • Pacayalito
  • Peña Blanca
  • Pexjá
  • Roblarón
  • Taguayni
  • Timushan
  • Tres Pinos

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia Collaborators, "La Unión (Zacapa)," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/La_Uni%C3%B3n_(Zacapa). Visited 2 October 2017.