La Paz, Catamarca, Argentina Genealogy
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Guide to Department of La Paz ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.
History[edit | edit source]
- On August 25, 1821, as a result of the provincial autonomy of Catamarca, the area became part of the province of Catamarca.
- On September 23, 1875, by force of "La Sala de R.R de Catamarca", the department of La Paz was created, separating it from the jurisdiction of the department of Ancasti.
- Subsequently received immigrant population of Syrian-Lebanese, Italian, and Belgian origin.
- In 1912 it was designated as the head of the department of the Villa de San Antonio, and the town of Recreo was established as a city and at the same time the new head of the department.
- The department of La Paz has a population of approximately 23,000 people. 
Parish Records[edit | edit source]
- Registros parroquiales, 1864-1928 - Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 2º Censo Nacional, 1895 : La Paz (Departamento), Catamarca - Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- Cementerio Municipal de Recreo
Municipalities[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia Collaborators, "Departamento La Paz (Catamarca)," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Departamento_La_Paz_(Catamarca). Visited October 23, 2017.