La Crosse County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
La Crosse County


Guide to La Crosse County, Wisconsin ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: La Crosse
Organized: March 1, 1851
Parent County(s): Crawford County[1]
Neighboring Counties
Houston (MN)  • Jackson  • Monroe  • Trempealeau  • Vernon  • Winona (MN)
See County Maps
Courthouse
La Crosse County Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
WI La Crosse.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County has La Crosse as its seat and the County was created 1851. The County is located in the west central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

La Crosse County Courthouse
400 4th Street North
La Crosse, WI 54601-3200
Phone: 608-785-9577
La Crosse County Website

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and land records from 1851.
Clerk of Courts has divorce and court records.
Register in Probate has probate records from 1851.[3]

La Crosse County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1851 1851 1851 1850 1851 1851 1820
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1907. General compliance year unknown.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1851--La Crosse County was created 1 March 1851 from Crawford County.
  • County seat: La Crosse[5]

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of La Crosse County, Wisconsin online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1860 12,186
1870 20,297 66.6%
1880 27,073 33.4%
1890 38,801 43.3%
1900 42,997 10.8%
1910 43,996 2.3%
1920 44,355 0.8%
1930 54,455 22.8%
1940 59,653 9.5%
1950 67,587 13.3%
1960 72,465 7.2%
1970 80,468 11.0%
1980 91,056 13.2%
1990 97,904 7.5%
2000 107,120 9.4%
2010 114,638 7.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing La Crosse census records online, see: Wisconsin Census.

State Census

  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.Identifies by name of head of household. Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.

Federal Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wisconsin denominations, view the Wisconsin Church Records wiki page.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
LDS Ward and Branch Records

Lutheran

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Holmen, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Wisconsin Land and Property for additional information about early Wisconsin land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Trempealeau CountyJackson CountyMonroe CountyVernon CountyHouston CountyWinona CountyWI LA CROSSE.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in La Crosse served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in La Crosse:

- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies B, D, H, and L
- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company A
- 8th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company I
- 9th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company F
- 9th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry Reorganized, Company C
- 12th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company E
- 14th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company D

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the La Crosse Clerk of Circuit Court and are housed at the La Crosse Courthouse. See the wiki page Wisconsin Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Wisconsin tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned property or other items that could be taxed were listed, some residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records. For more information see the Wiki page, Wisconsin Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Most counties started keeping records in the 1870s. In 1907, the counties began sending copies to the state.

For pre-1907 births, deaths, and marriages, search the Wisconsin Genealogy Index.

For additional information, see Wisconsin Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

  • Area Research Center
    Murphy Library, University of Wisconsin, La Crosse
    1631 Pine St.
    La Crosse, Wisconsin 54601
    Telephone: 608-785-8511
    Email: specoll@uwlax.edu
    Website
    Facebook

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • La Crosse County Historical Society
    Mailing: PO Box 1272
    La Crosse, WI 54602-1272
    429 7th Street N
    La Crosse, WI 54601-3301
    Phone: 608-782-1980
    Facebook
  • Holmen Area Historical Society
    PO Box 535
    Holmen, WI 54636
    Facebook
  • La Crosse Heritage Association
    600 3rd Street N
    La Crosse, WI 54601-6299
    Website
  • La Crosse Area Genealogical Society
    PO Box 1782
    La Crosse, WI 54602
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "La Crosse County, Wisconsin " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/La_Crosse_County,_Wisconsin."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), La Crosse County, Wisconsin. Page 755-760, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 757-759.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "La Crosse County, Wisconsin," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/La_Crosse_County,_Wisconsin, accessed 19 September 2018.