Lübeck, German Empire Civil Registration
|Lübeck, German Empire Wiki Topics|
|Lübeck Major Record Types|
|Reading the Records|
|Local Research Resources|
|Germany Record Types|
Civil registration records are records of births, marriages, and deaths kept by the government. In Lübeck, they were started in October 1874. In addition, Lübeck kept civil registration between 1811 and 1815, during the Napoleonic occupation. If your family had a birth, marriage or death recorded during that brief time period, it will contain great information, due to the high level of detail in French records.
German terms for these records include Standesamtsregister, Zivilstandsregister, or Personenstandsregister. They are an excellent source for information on names and dates and places of births, marriages, and deaths. These records are kept by the civil registrar (Standesbeamte) at the civil registry office (Standesamt). Study these links to learn what information can be found in them:
- Births (Geburtsregister)
- Marriages (Heiraten, Ehen, or Trauungen)
- Deaths (Sterberegister or Totenregister)
For a comprehensive understanding of civil registration, study the article Germany Civil Registration.
Privacy Laws[edit | edit source]
Since 2009, birth records have been public after 110 years, marriages after 80 years and deaths after 30 years. A direct relationship (direct descendants and direct ancestors) to the subject of the record sought will be required in cases where the required time period has not yet elapsed. Even then, the records may be accessible if it can be shown that all "participating parties" have died at least 30 years ago. Participating parties are both parents and the child in birth records, and both spouses in a marriage.
Use census records as clues to finding family members in church and civil registration records.[edit | edit source]
You can find probable families in census records, then use church and civil registration records to determine if the family is a match, find additional information on the family, and document your family accurately. Church and civil registration records are primary sources and everything you find in a census record should be proven in primary sources.
Records at Ancestry.com[edit | edit source]
- Lübeck, Germany, Census, 1857 (in German), ($). Index and images.
- Lübeck, Germany, Census, 1851 (in German), ($). Index and images.
- Lübeck, Germany, Census, 1845 (in German), ($). Index and images.
- Lübeck, Germany, Census, 1831 (in German), ($). Index and images.
- Germany, Census, 1815 (in German), ($). Index and images.
- Germany, Census, 1812 (in German), ($). Index and images.
- Lübeck, Germany, Census, 1807 (in German), ($). Index and images.
Finding Civil Registration Records[edit | edit source]
1. Online Records[edit | edit source]
- Lübeck Zivilstandsregister, 1726-1855, Lübeck Standesamt - at FamilySearch.
- Lübeck Zivilstandesregister, 1811-1875, Lübeck Standesamt - at FamilySearch, partial index.
- Lübeck Birth Records - Ancestry.com, ($). 1811-1875. Index and images.
- Lübeck, Germany, Marriage Banns - Ancestry.com, ($). 1811-1871. Index and images.
- Lübeck Deaths - Ancestry.com, ($). 1811-1875. Index and images.
- Lübeck, Germany, Marriage Banns - Ancestry.com, ($). 1871-1875. Index and images.
- Lübeck, Germany, Personal Index Cards - Ancestry.com, 1300-1850. Index.
2. Digital Copies of Civil Registration From FamilySearch[edit | edit source]
Try to find records in the collection of the FamilySearch Library. Many microfilms have been digitized for online viewing. Gradually, everything will be digitized, so check back occasionally. Some have viewing restrictions, and can only be viewed at the Family History Centers near you, and/or by members of supporting organizations. To find records:
- a. Click on the records of Germany, Lübeck.
- b. Click on Places within Germany, Lübeck and a list of towns will appear.
- c. Click on your town. If the town or village is not listed, find the town in Meyer's Gazetteer. See where the Standesamt (StdA.) was. It may have been in different place, because of the size of the town. Use the town found in Meyer's Gazetteer, not the current, merged office.
- d. Click on the "Civil registration" topic, if available. Click on the blue links to specific record titles.
- e. Choose the correct record type and time period for your ancestor. "Geburten" are births. Heiraten are marriages. "Verstorbene" are deaths.
- f. Some combination of these icons will appear at the far right of the microfilm listed for the record. . The magnifying glass indicates that the microfilm is indexed. Clicking on the magnifying glass will take you to the index. Clicking on the camera will take you to an online digital copy of the microfilm.
3. Documents by Mail[edit | edit source]
Documents can be ordered by telephone at the Civil Registration Office in Lübeck.
- Information for the following years is accessible:
- Births 110 years back
- Marriages 80 years back
- Deaths 30 years back.
- If a request is not showing a direct relationship, permission needs to be obtained to show a legal right to this information.
Ratzeburger Allee 16
How to Write the Letter[edit | edit source]
Detailed instruction for what to include in the letter, plus German translations of the questions and sentences most frequently used are in the German Letter Writing Guide.
Melderegister[edit | edit source]
Since 1874, there is an official registration of residential addresses in Germany. These data were collected by the police stations. They are kept in the civil registration office. Some offices keep them historically from their start. Other offices destroyed records for people once they died.
These registration cards were available for each respective householder. Noted on the card were his wife and any children, dates of marriage or death, and a history of resident addresses. The value of these cards is their use to determine which civil registration office might hold birth, marriage, and death certificates for the family members.
Follow the German Letter Writing Guide, and use questions 16 and 17 to request these records.
4. Compiled and Published Secondary Sources[edit | edit source]
Compiled genealogies and published genealogies are secondary sources, not original or primary sources.
As such, they are subject to human error through translation or transcription errors, mistaken interpretations, and opinion decisions of another researcher.
You should make every effort to base your research on the actual, original records or their digitized images.
Town Genealogies (Ortssippenbuch or Ortsfamilienbuch)[edit | edit source]
See the class Online Ortsfamilienbücher at Genealogy.net and the Wiki article, Germany Town Genealogies and Parish Register Inventories on the Internet. Published town genealogies, Ortssippenbuch (town lineage book) or Ortsfamilienbuch (town family book), generally include birth, marriage, and death data for all persons found in the local records during a specified time period, compiled into families based on the opinion of the author. If one is available, it should only be used as an index or guide to finding the original records. They usually contain errors. Always verify their information in original records.
- Over 620 online town genealogies are currently accessible at Online Ortsfamilienbücher.
- A list of published Ortssippenbücher is found at:Category: Family Book on the same website.
- For more information and online searchable collections of town genealogy books, by region, see Germany Town Genealogies and Parish Register Inventories on the Internet.
- A bibliography of OFBs held by the Central Office for Person and Family History, and available in their archive in Frankfurt am Main-Höchst, is listed here. You can arrange for copied pages to be sent to you for a fee or donation. Use the "Find" function on your keyboard to search the bibliographies, as they are not alphabetical.
Digitized Pedigree Collections of Lübeck Families[edit | edit source]
- Genealogische und biographische Nachrichten über Lübeckische Familien aus älterer Zeit
- Lübeckische Geschlechter, anfangs zusammengetragen von Hieronymus von Dorne (et al)...
- Die lübeckischen Familien Greverade und Warneböke im sechszehnten Jahrhunderte...
- Lübische Genealogie
Reading the Records[edit | edit source]
German Records[edit | edit source]
- It's easier than you think! You do not have to be fluent in French and German to use these records, as there is only a limited vocabulary used in them. By learning a few key phrases, you will be able to read them adequately. Here are some resources for learning to read German records.
- These video webinars will teach you to read German handwriting:
- List of Names in Old German Script A comprehensive list of German given names, written in old script, with possible variations.
- Old German Script Transcriber (alte deutsche Handschriften): See your family names in the script of the era. Type your name or other word into the font generator tool. Click on the 8 different fonts. Save the image to your computer and use it as you work with old Germanic records.
Search Strategy[edit | edit source]
- Search for the relative or ancestor you selected. When you find their birth record, search for the births of their brothers and sisters.
- Next, search for the marriage of their parents. The marriage record will have information that will often help you find the birth records of the parents.
- Search the death registers for all known family members.
- The marriage certificate will show the birth date, birth place, and parents of the bride and the groom.
- Repeat this process for both the father and the mother, starting with their birth records, then their siblings' births, then their parents' marriages, and so on.
- If earlier generations (parents, grandparents, etc.) do not appear in the records, search neighboring parishes.