KwaZulu-Natal Province, South Africa Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa)
Jump to: navigation, search
South Africa Wiki Topics
Flag of South Africa.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
South Africa Background
South Africa Ethnicities
Local Research Resources
Moderator

The FamilySearch moderator for the Netherlands is Daniel Jones.

South Africa
Province of KwaZulu-Natal

Guide to Province of KwaZulu-Natal family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Province of KwaZulu-Natal
South Africa ORP.png
Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg


Historical Overview

History

Localities

List of cities and towns in the KwaZulu-Natal.

Maps and gazetteers

Records

Cemeteries

South Africa War Graves Project - Kwazulu Natal Cemeteries

Census

Church records

Dutch Reformed Church (NGK)
Dutch Reformed Church (NHK)
Reformed Church (GK)
Methodist
Anglican
Catholic
Others

Civil Registration

Births, marriages, and deaths began to be registered in 1808.[1]

Emigration

Genealogy

Land records

Occupations

Probate Records

See here for a description of what death notices are and where they are located.

School records

Tax records

Websites

Further Reading

References

  1. The Family History Department of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, “Family History Record Profile: Southern Africa,” Word document, private files of the FamilySearch Content Strategy Team, 1987-1998.