Kvitsøy (Hvidingsø) Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Kvitsøy, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|vitsøy (Hvidingsø) Parish|
|Amt 1689-1919||1662-1682: Stavanger stiftamt, |
1682-1919: Stavanger amt
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Records begin in 1668. They contain priest and sexton records from the parishes Hausken, Sørbø, Askø, Utstein Kloster and Kvitsøy (Hvidingsø) in Rennesøy (Hausken) clerical district. The parishes Askøy (Askø) and Utstein Kloster became the new Mosterøy parish 1899. All these records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1663-1666: Tax lists (Manntall) for Stavanger Amt now Rogaland Fylke.
Fogdernes og sorenskrivernes manntall 1664-1666 This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.
Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666 This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. This clerical census is more complete.
- 1701: Tax lists (Manntall)
Manntall 1701 The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. Also includes the residence of all unmarried males living away from home when the census was taken.
- 1801: Census
Rennesøy clerical district includes Hauske, Sørbø, Askøy, Utstein Kloster, Kvitsøy, and Mosterøy parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.
- 1816: Tax list
- 1825: Census
Folketelling 1825 Rennesøy prestegjeld The 1825 census of Rennesøy clerical district includes these parishes: Hauske, Sørbø, Askøy (Mosterøy), Utstein Kloster, and Kvitsøy. It lists the farm name, persons name, age, christening date, and miscellaneous information.
- 1865: Census
Rennesøy Census This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. Digitalarkivet 1865 -telling for Rennesøe
- 1875: Census
Rennesøy prestegjeld This 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information.
- 1900: Census
Mosterøy Census 1900 This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Digitalarkivet 1900-telling for Rennesø.
- 1910: Census
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Land Records[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
For 1666-1795 the probates are in the combined Ryfylke and Karmsund judicial district.
For 1786-1876 they are found in Ryfylke judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1729-1807 are found in Ryfylke deanery deanery. `
Availability[edit | edit source]
Farm Book[edit | edit source]
There is a history of Rennesøy clerical district which includes Rennesøy, Mosterøy, and Kvitsøy from 1837 to 1937.
"Rennesøy prestegjeld, Rennesøy, Mosterøy, Kvitsøy," Stavanger, Norway: Dreyers forlag, 1938. 948.31/R1 H2r FHL INTL Book
Farm Names[edit | edit source]
Lindanger, Birger: Kvitsøy Gard og ætt:
Kviting:Englahuset, Fagerlund, Fredheim, Fredli, Heimly, Knutsahuset, Krogøy, Notbu, Sinastykket, Sjøtyn, Solberg, Solglytt, Solheim, Solstrand, Soltun, Stevelsholmen, Stormsett, Strandheim, Strandtun, Stevelsholmen, Stølsfjell, Strandblomst, Strandborg, Strandlund, Torskeberget, Utsikten,
Nordbø: Bøen, Biskopshaugen, Nordbøhagen, Stømsund,
Naustvoll:Asmarvik, Erikstykket, Heimly (Balaklava), Naustvollhagen (Haien), Skarpevold, Skjeret, Solbakken, Stokka,
Meling:Blidensol, Dalheim, Fagerheim, Fredhaug, Haganes, Myrå, Nybø, Nydal, Solglimt Sollid, Strandheim, Vigå/Vigen, Østerlide,
Håland: Buøy, Fjeldhaug, Fredheim, Heimdal, Losjen, Nylund, Red River, Sementen, Smiå,Solhøi, Sollund, Storhaug, Udsigt,
Ydstadbø: Aurbakken, Bakken, Bratberg, Fjeldbakken, Fjeldberg, Fjeldtun, Fredheim/Stykkhagen/Nordheim, Heimlund, Høgaberg, Klippen, Laberget/ Skoglund, Liberg, Pallestrand, Sjøtun, Solborg, Solhaug, Solhøi, Solstrand, Storesjøhuset, Strandborg, Strandly, Sysselhuset, Tomasgård, Tvivor, Varabrådet, Vesletun,
References[edit | edit source]
Lindanger, Birger: Kvitsøy gard og ætt. Utgitt av Kvitsøy kommune 2009