Kviteseid (Hvidesøe) Parish, Telemark, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Kviteseid, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Kviteseid (Hvidesøe) Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Bratsberg
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1919: Bratsberg
Fylke 1919-Present Telemark
Region add here
Prestegjeld Kviteseid
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Kviteseid
Fogderi Øvre Telemarken
Sorenskriveri Øvre Telemarken vestfjeldske
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]


Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1664-1666 Civil Census: This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It covered Kviteseid clerical district and included Kviteseid parish, Nissedal annex, Treungen annex, Vraadal (Vrådal) annex and Flaabygd (Ytre Flåbygd) annex. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).


  • 1664-1666 Clerical Census: This census was taken by the local parish priests. It covered Kviteseid clerical district and included Kviteseid parish, Nissedal annex, Treungen annex, Vraadal (Vrådal) annex, and Flaabygd (Ytre Flåbygd) annex. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).


  • 1782: The 1782 census for Kviteseid clerical district which includes the parishes Treungen, Nissedal, Ytre Flåbygd, Vrådal, and Kviteseid. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.



  • 1845: The 1845 census for Kviteseid clerical district which at this time period included the parishesKviteseid, Brunkeberg, and Vrådal. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).





  • 1900: The 1900 census for Kviteseid clerical district includes Kviteseid, Brunkeberg, and Vrådal parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).


  • 1910: The 1910 for Kviteseid census is available online in a searchable database at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).


Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

21 Berge 36 Bergland med Hovet 32 Blikum 28 Borgejordet 23 Brakandalen 30 Brauten 28 Breidalen

26 Donstad Skov 49 Dritholheien

29 Finnekaasen 20 Fjaagesund

43 Gotuholt 29 Grave

36 Haukom 42 Holtene 34 Holteviken 36 Hommene 18 Honnes 50 Hosum 50 Hovdeklev 25 Hurrung

18 Kilen 40 Kirkebøen 34 Kvernnes 22 Kviteseid

37 Langeli 40 Lauvestad 29 Li 47 Li 44 Lundevall

32 Midbøen 39 Midsund nordre 33 Moen

23 Nes 49 Nordgaarden 49 Nøsterud

48 Opgaarden 41 Opsund

31 Roeid 32 Rolleivstad

24 Skarperud 42 Smedland 23 Spjotsod 34 Sundet 32 Syftestad

18 Tonningsdalen 28 Tveit nordre

27 Ulledalen 31 Utbøen med Apalstaaen 35 Utsund nordre

20 Vigdelskoven

46 Øiene nedre 19 Østenaa

Kviteseid Bygdesoge I

Brauti: Apalstoi, Dapen, Undeberg

Berge:  Kasin, Slåttekosi, Undeberg, Øverberg

Fjågesund:  Åse, Bergsto, Briskelid, Bukasin, Finsand, Gautekosi (Kosi), Gråsvoll, Groa 2 pl., Grotnes 2 pl., Hassvik, Haugen, Kåsa, Kleiv, Lia 3 pl., Midtbøen, Nykos, Oddebukti, Odden, Pekeberg, Rue, Sandbekk, Sollid, Staulen, Strånd, Teigen, Torpen, Vidflor, Vigdeil

Gotuholt: Berge, Dampedalen, Hauglid, Lillegård, Stóte (Slåtte)? Storgård, Tverrås,

Haukom:  Bergland, Brekke, Homman, Hóve, Kosi, Lunde, Lundeberg, Skóvik, Skuggeberg

Holtan: Bakken, Holte, Juvland, <<Lysager>>, Mylla, Skibsted, Smeland, Ståland

Hovdekleiv:  Hosum, Moen, Tjønnås

Hurrung:  Øvrebø

Kilen:  Berge, Bukåsa, Fiskarbekk 2 pl., Hanskos, Haugan, Holdnes, (Honnes), Jord-grav, Kåsa, Nordbø, nørdre, Nykos, Rui 2 pl., Rusodden, Rønningen, Røyrhelle, Skotet, Slåtta, Stallen 2 pl., Tonningsdalen, Torsdalen

Kviteseid:  Dalen, Haugan, Kleivan, Lindestad 2 pl., Lidtveit, Nordskog 3 pl., Sagabukti, Sandvik, Smeodden, Snaunes, Straumhaug, Strømstad, Sørkos (Surkosi)

Kyrkjebø:  Flaten, Landvik, Lauvstad

Langlid:  Kosi, Lyngåsen, Vadder

Lundevall:  Daleln, Lid, nedre, Myri, Nystaul, Rui, Flat-, Stuvstaul (Åland), Teigen, Tjønnheid

Moen:  Eksempel (-en), Passpå, Ursikt

Midtsund:  Åsheim (Åslid), Bekkhus, Bjerkhaug, Homman, Jonsborg, Kosi, Seland, Solberg, Sollid, Ståland, Steinsrud, Tveiten

Neset:  Båthuset, Bukkøy, Kvæven, Sorgenfri, Setflot, Spjotsodd

Nordgarden:  Floti, Gonilskos, Grasberg, haugan, Haugen, Jorde, Kosi, Kvigarden, Listaul, Nordbøen, Nørstrud, Pyklimot, Stogo

Roeid:  Bekkhus, Haugen, Karlsrud, Meinstad, Rugtveit

Skarprud:  Åbø, Bandaksøy, Berge, Bukti, Gulløy, Høysvev, Kvitbergdalen, Kasnes 2 pl., Midtbøen, Odden, Urkos

Syftestad:  Blikom, Lisland, Listaul, Midtbøen, Mogan, Rolleivstad, Rolleivstad, Røbakk

Tveit:  Åsland, Berge, Borgejorde, Brandbu, Breidalen, Finnkosi, Fossheim, Grave, Haugen, Heggtveit, Heimdal, Hommen, Jondalen, Kosi, Kringlemyr, Myran, Raudkleiv, Skålås, Skote, Solheim, Tveistodalen,  (Tveitstodalen)

Uddedalen:  Landsverk

Uppgarden:  Bekkhus, Juvland, Landerud, Lauve, Lid, Lyberg, Nordbø, Staulen, Sudbø, Tjønnheid, Gamle-

Uppsund:  Åse, Bekkhus, Draugedalen, Haugen, Høydal, Jorde, Juvland, Kolbu, Kross-bekk, Lid, Paradis, Rising, Smeland, Uppebøen

Utbøen:  Apalstoi, Lillegård?

Utsund:  Drammen, fiskhytta, Holteviki, Kjeldal, Kleivstaul, Kvennes, Myrfjell, Porsmyr, Sunde, Tekstodden, Urbø, Vesleøy, Viki, Åvrebø

Østenå:  Gravningen, Holland, eller Hollendarodden, Jutulbrui, Knutskos, Lauvviki, Odden, Straumstaul, Tjovvik

Øvland:  Bergland, Bekkhus, Gullbekk, Langedal, Lia, Strandstaul

Øyan:  Midtbøen

Vrådal Parish

Byggstøyl:  Neirbø, Skare, Undeberg

Dale:  Brauti, Sandviki, Staver

Finndreng:  Lauvstad (Urimeleg), Finndreng, Lisle-, Reinskos, Slokvik, Steane

Flatland:  Årbakk, Århus, Berge, Breiland, Brottlid, Hauge, Hauknes, Homme, Noraberg, Rui, Skipar

Hægeland:  Årviki, Årvikjordet, Bukkøy, Haugen, Kaupmannfloti, Kleppe, Kleppskog

Kråkenes:  Årstad, Haland, Holte, Kilane, Lauvodden, Revskil, Straume

Lønnegrav:  Bakkan, kBriskelid, Flaten, Hjartal, Hustveit, Juvland, Kosi, Lislekos, Lønnemoen, Midtveit, Strånd, Tangen

Naper:  Åsheim, Mylla, Skogen, Smedalen, Tyrikosi, Vassendstøylen, Vråliosen

Nordbø:  Kosi, Straumen

Ormtveit:  Bakken, Bergland, Sandland, Sandvik, Svartebekk, Viki

Roholt: Åsland, Bukkøy, Eidstoi, Foleggdalen, Heia, Kosi, Lauve, Lauvejordet, Midbø, Nordskog, Strånd, Staumsnes, Verpe

Sinnes:  Askedalen, Jorde, Kvæven, Porsvik, Sanden, Sunde, Vollen

Skree:  Lundeberg, Skretveit

Vrå:  Flotbudalen, Holtskil, Johanneshus, Juve, Karlsflot, Kilen, Kosi, Lislestøyl, Lunden, Odden 2 pl., Rui, Solberg, Sollid, Stamsnes

Vrålid:  Smedsli, Vrålistoi

Øy:  Bruenden? Bukti, Dalen, Fossøy, Krintolen, Risøy, Krintolen, Risøy, Stallane

Kviteseid Bygdesoge II

Austenå, Bakken, Bandaksøy. Barstad, Beitlid, Bekkhus, Bergan, Bergdàl, Berge, Bergland, Bergshyl, Bergsto, Bindingsdalen, Bjerkehaug, Bjonnhushommen, Bjønndalan, Bjørkehaug, Bjørkelid, Bjørkeseth,

Bjørklund, Bjørnflaten, Bjåland, Blikom, Borgejordet, Brakandalen, Brandbu, Bratt-Sandland, Bratterud, Brauti, Breidalen, Breiland, Brekka, Brekke, Bukkøy, Bukosi, bukti, Busterud, Byggstøyl, Bygland, Bøen,

Dalane, Dalastaul, Dale, Dalen, Diltus, Djuve, Donstad, Dragstveit, Draugedalen, Eidsto, Eikedal, Eikeland, Espelalnd, Findreng, Finnkos, finnstaulen, Finsand, Fiskarbekk, Fitjastaul,Fjågesund,

Flate-Sandland, Flaten, Flatland, Flåta, Folkestad, Fossjord, Fossøl, Furuheim, Furuly, Gjelstad, Gjerjord, Gjersund, Gjervold, Gotuholt, Granheim, Gravdal, Grave, Gravi, Gravningen, Groa, Grotnes, Groven,

Grytingkosi, Grønlid, Grønvang, Gråsvoll, Gullkopp, Gulløy, Gunhildskos, Haddeland, Halvfardalen, Håffardalen, Hamaren, Hasleberg, Haugan, Hauge, Haugelid, Haugen, Haugerud, Haugestad, Haugestun,

Haugland, Hauglandmyrane, Hauglid, Haukom, Heggtveit, Hegni, Heia, Heimbø, Heimdal, Heistad, Hemmestveit, Hesteskodiket, Hestgarden, Holdnes, Holland, Holt, Holtan, Holte, Holteviki, Homman,

Homme, Hommen, Honnes, Hosum, Hovdekleiv, Hovland, Hurrong, Husli, Huvestad, Hægeland, Høgevoll, Hågevoll, Håffardalen, Håtveitåsen, Håveit, Jonsborg, Jonskos, Jordgrav, Jore, Jusureid, Jutulbrua, Juve,

Juvland, Kallåk, Karlsrud, Kasnes, Kaupmannfloti, Kilen, Kjos, Kleiv, Kleivdal, Kleivstaul, Knutskos, Kolbu, Kolltveit, Kosi, Kovejuvet, Krikken, Krintolen, Krossbakkan, Kråkenes, Kråkenesskog, Kvalset, Kvennes,

Kviggarden, Kvinandalen, Kvitbergdalen, Dviteseid, Kvæven, Kvåle, Kvålset, Kyrdalen, Kyrkje, Kyrkjebø, Kåsi, Kåvejuvet, Landsverk, Landvik, Langeli, Lauvdal, Lauve, Lauvstad, Lauvviki (L-a-u-v-v-i-k-i), Leirlid, Lia,

Liberg, Lid, Lidveit, Lie, Leing, Lier, Lillegård, Lindestad, Lisland, Listaul, Loupedalen, Lunde, Lundebakk, Lundeberg, Lundehaug, Lunden, Lundevall, Lundevallsdalen, Lønnegrav, Lønnemoen, Løvland,

Magnushommen, Meinstad, Mevastaul, Midbøen, Midsund, Midtbru, Midtbø, Midtbøen, Midtgarden, Midtistogu, Midtlia, Midtre Heggtveit, Midstund, Moen, Mogan, Mogen, Moland, Mostaul, Myrann,

Myrheim, Myri, Myrland, Naper, Nassgrav, Nedre, Nedre Øyan, Nedre Årdalen, Neset, Nigard, Nistogo, Nistogu Dalen, Noko, Noraberg, Nordaberg, Nordbø, Nordbøen, Nordgarden, Nordheim, Nordigard,

Nordigard Fjågesund, Nordjorde, Nordjordet, Nordskog, Norvik, Nygard, Nykos, Nyland, Nystaul, Nytt, Nørstrud, Oddebukti, Odden, Omdalen, Omland, Omlid, Omsberg, Omtveit, Oppebøen, Oppgarden, Oppigard Kallåk, Oppistogo Sandland, Oppistogu, Oppsund, Opsund, Ormtveit, Ovre Haugan,

Ovre Årdalen, Passpå, Porsviki, Port Arthur, Pålsgard, Raklekast, Ramskei, Ramskeifyla, Raudkleiv, Reinskos, Revskil, Rising, Roeid, Roholt, Rolleivstad, Romseid, Rue, Runningen, Rupestaul, Rusodden,

Rustad, Rødbakk, Røgsland, Rønningen, Saltvoll, Sanden, Sandland, Sandland-Flate, Sandlandgrenni, Sandvik, Sandåker, Seland, Sending, Sigurdstaul, Siannes, Sinnesjordi, Sjodal, Sjåheim, Skare,

Skarprud, Skeidal, Skibsted, Skogly, Skogsmark, Skree, Skretveit, Skålid, Slettemeås, Slokviki, Slåtta, Slåttun, Smeland, Smylimoen, Småsegner, Solbakken, Solberg, Solheim, Sollid, Solstad, Solstrand,

Solstua, Solvang, Spjotsodd, Sporastaul, Stallen, Stallshaug, Staulen, Stavdal, Staver, Steane, Steinkosodden, Steinsland, Stokkland, Storgård, Storkos, Storrmyr, Straand, Strand, Straume, 

Straunodden, Straumsnes, Straumstaul, Stridsmoen, Strømstad, Strånd, Stråndi, Styve, Støre-omtveit, Støyle, Ståland, Sudbø, Sundbø, Bundet, Surkos, Svanajord, Svingen, Svolsbru, Syftestad,

Søndre Bratt Sandland, Søndre Brekke, Søndre Utsund, Søndre Østenå,  Sørkos, Tarjeisodde, Teigen, Tjovik, Tjønnås, Tollehommen, Torpen, Torshaug

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Øvre Telemark judicial district
*1665-1866 Family History Library

Øvre Telemark østfjelske judicial district
*1668-1845 Digitalarkivet

Øvre Telemark vestfjelske judicial district
*1665-1850 Digitalarkivet

Øvre Telemark deanery
*1753-1817 Family History Library
*1707-1817 Digitalarkivet

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

Bakken, Olav: Kviteseid Bygdesoge II. Utgitt av Eigi Forlag 1962.