Kvinesdal Parish, Vest-Agder, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Kvinesdal (Liknes), Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search
Norway
Vest-Agder County
Kvinesdal

Guide to Kvinesdal, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Kvinesdal (Liknes) Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 add here
Amt 1689-1919 add here
Fylke 1919-Present add here
Region add here
Prestegjeld add here
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag add here
Fogderi add here
Sorenskriveri add here
Skipreide add here


Church Records

Kvinesdal clerical district contains priest and sexton records from the parishes Kvinesdal (Liknes), Feda, Hægebostad, Eiken (Egen) and Fjotland . The combined Kvinesdal clerical district was in 1753 divided into 1) Nedre Kvinesdal (now Kvinesdal) and 2) Øvre Kvinesdal (now Hægebostad) with the parishes Hægebostad, Eiken and Fjotland. Fjotland was again annexed to Kvinesdal clerical district from 1841 to 1857. Microfilm at the Family History Library are from 1710-1916.

  • The church books have been transcribed for Liknes, Feda and Fjotland. Various indexes have also been created-- birth records sorted by farm and marriage records sorted both by bride and groom.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet.

Øvre Kvinesdal / Eiken: 1710-1867

Øvre Kvinesdal / Fjotland: 1710-1840

Øvre Kvinesdal / Hægebostad: 1710-1834

Kvinesdal / Feda: 1815-1934

Kvinesdal / Fjotland: 1816-1849

Kvinesdal / Kvinesdal; 1917-1938

Kvinesdal / Liknes: 1829-1916

Nedre Kvinesdal: 1789-1815

Nedre Kvinesdal / Feda: 1710-1788, 1815-1839

Nedre Kvinesdal / Liknes: 1710-1788, 1815-1829

Census Records

This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete. Original manuscript on microfilm.

This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete. Original manuscript on microfilm.

The 1801 census (b. 36) for Kvinesdal clerical district includes Feda and Kvinesdal parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation. Original manuscript on microfilm.

This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. Original manuscript on microfilm.

This 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Original manuscript on microfilm.

This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Original manuscript on microfilm.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Farm Names

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:
55 Aagedal, 154 Aamland lille med Aurebraad, 155 Aamland store, 162 Aamot, 69 Aarlien, 110 Aase lille, 47 Aaseland, 80 Audalstøl

151 Baskaar 72 Berstøl 147 Bigtjøn 137 Bjaastøl med Hellestøl nedre, 67 Bjørkelien, 145 Borhommen, 108 Braudeland

87 Dugen, 43 Dyrli, 42 Dyrstøl

56 Eieland, 168 Eigebrokken, 124 Eigeland ytre, 100 Eigeland øvre, 70 Eigelien, 133 Eigenes, 104 Eljestrøm, 162 Engleaasen, 92 Espeland nordre, 62 Espeland paa Heien

129 Faret, 117 Fondal, 53 Førland vestre

76 Gaaseland, 57 Gauksdal, 63 Gjeidebuen, 165 Gjemlestad, 73 Gløvre, 130 Gullestad, 41 Guse, 41 Gusevig

65 Haddeland, 163 Hamre med Skaar, 84 Haugland nedre, 58 Heien, 81 Herrestøl, 116 Hetlestøl, 59 Hitra, 60 Hitterskogen, 148 Hompland, 150 Homplands-Hellestøl, 99 Hundsbit

164 Jerdal, 90 Jerstad lille, 131 Jonsmyren

77 Kalvstøl, 125 Kleven, 105 Kloster, 127 Knarvestøl

121 Lauvaas, 111 Lervigen, 166 Li, 106 Lieland, 104 Liknes, 132 Liknes, 123 Linland, 113 Livold, 45 Londal nedre, 78 Løland 95

Moi nedre, 68 Mois-Rudlend, 95 Moisodden, 107 Motland, 75 Møgedal

74 Nekland, 49 Nordhelle, 50 Nordhelle lille

141 Oksefjeld

157 Rafoss, 134 Rafoss lille, 159 Rafossheien, 112 Raustad indre, 118 Rudlend, 143 Ryggesaas, 103 Røidland, 128 Røines, 139 Røinestad midtre, 142 Røiseland

41 Sagedal, 167 Sandvand vestre, 64 Sandvand østre, 144 Senland, 102 Skaren nedre, 153 Skjekkeland, 122 Slimestad, 156 Solbarm, 169 Solbjør, 119 Solbjør lille, 136 Solbjørstøl, 152 Solbjørum, 66 Stakkeland, 44 Stalleland, 82 Steintland, 91 Stokkeland, 162 Storaageren, 61 Stranden, 161 Svinland, 48 Sørhelle

54 Taagaas, 98 Teigeli, 97 Teigen ytre, 135 Tjellaas, 149 Tjønhom, 139 Trolleskeia, 158 Træland, 160 Trælandsheien, 51 Trælskaar

126 Vaaskeland, 83 Vatland, 146 Versland

41 Ødegaarden, 113 Øie ytre, 115 Øieheien ytre, 113 Øiestranden, 71 Øirutle, 79 Østestøl

Farm names listed in Årli's Kvinesdal 1, 1964 and Kvinesdal 2, 1965 are as follows:
Aase lille – Skjerli, Aase store, Audalstøl, Austre Sandvatn

Basgård, Berstøl, Biktjørn, Bjørkeli, Bjåstøl, Borhom, Braudeland, Breimoen, Båstøl,

Dugan, Dyrli, Dyrstad

Egeland ytre, Egeland øvre, Egeli, Egenes, Eieland, Eikebrok, Eljestraum, Espeland indre, Espeland på heia, Espeland ytre

Fondal, Førland nedre, Førland øvre

Gausdal, Gjemlestad, Gløvre, Gullestad, Guse, Gusevik, Gåseland

Haddeland, Hamre, Hauan, Haugland nedre, Haugland ytre, Haugland øvre, Heistøl, Hellestøl, Hidra, Hidreskog, Hompland, Hunsbedt, Husefjell nedre, Husefjell øvre

Indre Espeland

Jerdal, Jerstad, Jerstad lille

Kalstøl, Kleven, Kloster, Knarvestøl,    Lauvås, Lervik, Li, Liland, Lille Aase – Skjerli, Lille Jerstad, Lille Nordhelle, Lille Solberg, Lillemo, Lindland, Londal nedre, Londal øvre, Lyding, Løland

Midtre Røynestad, Moi, Mois-Rudlend, Motland, Møgedal

Nedre Førland, Nedre Haugland, Nedre Husefjell, Nedre Londal, Nedre Omland, Nekland, Nordhelle, Nordhelle lille

Oksefjell, Omland nedre, Omland øvre

Rafoss, Rafosshei, Ribås, Rudlend-Mois, Rullen, Rullen-Solbjørum, Ryggesås, Rødland, Røines, Røynestad midtre, Røynestad ytre, Røynestad øvre, Røyseland

Sandvatn austre, Sandvatn vestre, Sinland, Skjekkeland, Skjerli – lille Aase, Slimestad, Solbarm, Solberg, Solberg lille, Solberg store, Solbergstøl, Solbjørum-Rullen, Solås, Staddeland, Stakkeland, Stegemoen, Steinsland, Stokkeland, Store Aase, Store Solberg, Stranda, Svindland, Sørhelle

Teigeli, Teigen ytre, Teigen øvre, Tjellås, Tjørnhom, Togås, Træland, Trælandshei, Trælskår, Tunås

Vatland, Versland, Vestre Sandvatn, Våskeland

Ystestøl, Ytre Egeland, Ytre Espeland, Ytre Haugland, Ytre Røynestad, Ytre Teigen, Ytre Øyeheia

Øirutle, Øvre Egeland, Øvre Førland, Øvre Haugland, Øvre Husefjell, Øvre Londal, Øvre Omland, Øvre Røynestad, Øvre Teigen, Øvre Øye, Øye, Øye øvre, Øyeheia ytre

Ågedal, Åmodt, Årli.


Probate Records

Lister og Lyngdal
*1666-1889 Family History Library

Lister judicial district
*1666-1829 Digitalarkivet

Flekkefjord judical district
*1810-1887 Family History Library
*1810-1907 Digitalarkivet

Lista deanery
*1804-1834 Family History Library
*1804-1834 Digitalarkivet

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

Årli, Ånen.  Kvinesdal Ei Bygdebok 1. : Hegland Boktrykkeri, 1964

Årli, Ånen. Kvinesdal Ei Bygdebok 2. Fleddefjord: Hegland Boktrykkeri, 1965