To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Kvernes Parish, Møre og Romsdal, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Kvernes, Norway)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Kvernes, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Kvernes Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Trondheim
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1919: Romsdal
Fylke 1919-Present 1919-1935: Romsdal, 1935-: Møre og Romsdal
Region add here
Prestegjeld Kvernes
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Kvernes
Fogderi Nordmør
Sorenskriveri Nordmør
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Microfilm at the Family History Library for Kvernes prestegjeld (clerical district). Contains parish registers for the parishes Kvernes, Bremsnes, Kornstad and Eide. Included Kristiansund and Grip until 1827, Gjemnes until 1893 and Øre until 1747. Parish registers are from 1732-1900.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Kvernes: 1731-1871

Kvernes / Bremsnes: 1737-1830, 1878-1919

Kvernes / Eide: 1878-1899

Kvernes / Grip: 1733-1832

Kvernes / Kornstad: 1737-1830, 1878-1914

Kvernes / Kristiansund: 1731-1819

Kvernes / Kvernes: 1753-1830, 1869-1915

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • Fogd og sorenskrivers manntall 1664-1666. The 1664-1666 civil census for Kvernes clerical district includes the parishes of Bremsnes, Kristiansund, Kornstad, Eide, Grip, Kvernes and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives)
  • Sogneprestens manntall 1664-1666. The 1664-1666 clerical census for Kvernes clerical district includes the parishes of Bremsnes, Kornstad, Kvernes, Grip and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • 1701 census see Aure clerical district.
  • Folketellingen den 1ste februar 1801, Norge. The 1801 census for Kvernes clerical district includes the parishes of Kvernes, Bremsnes, Kornstad, Eide, Grip, Gjemnes and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online at Digital Archives.
  • Folketellingene 1801, 1818-1819, 1825, 1835, 1845, 1855 og 1865 for Tingvoll prestegjeld (Møre og Romsdal).  This census for Tingvoll clerical district includes the parishes of Kvernes, Bremsnes, Kornstad, Frei, Gjemnes, Straumsnes, Øre, Tingvoll, Halsa, Åsskard and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
  • Folketellingen 1825, 1835, 1845, og 1855 for Kvernes prestegjeld (Møre og Romsdal). The 1825, 1835, 1845, 1855 censuses for Kvernes clerical district inlcude the parishes of Kvernes, Bremsnes, Kornstad, Eide, Tingvoll, Stangvik, Surnadal, Sunndal, Kristiansund, Edøy, Aure and are available on microfilm at the Family History Library
  • Folketellingen for kongeriget Norge den 31te desember 1875. The 1875 census forKvernes clerical district include the parishes of Kvernes, Kornstad, Bremsnes, Eide and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Holten, Endre,Averøy bygdebok, Averøy : Utgitt av Averøy kulturstyre, 1979-. Local history and genealogy for Kvernes parish on Averøy, Møre og Romsdal, Norway. FHL 948.35/K2 D2a A farm name index to volume 1 is found in the following link. File:948.35-K2 D2a - Ålmenn Bygdesoge For Averøya.pdf

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

11 Afset

14 Bakken

23 Guldset 16 Gulstad

16 Haltbakteigen 15 Heggeset 14 Hoset

24 Kippervik 28 Kjørsvik 28 Klipen 14 Koparkleven 22 Kvernes

29 Leitet

12 Mek 10 Mork 17 Myrset

18 Nedal

21 Opsal 12 Ormhaugen

19 Rokset

13 Skarset 20 Strand 26 Sæteren

27 Trætvik 18 Trøen 25 Trøene

25 Veiset

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1668-1877: Probates are found in Nordmøre judicial district.

1697-1812: Clerical probates are found in Nordmøre Deanery

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names