Kung Karl Parish, Västmanland, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden
Västmanland County
Kung Karl Parish


Guide to Kung Karl Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Kung Karl Church

History

Kungsör Municipality is a municipality in Västmanland County in central Sweden and its seat is located in the town of Kungsör.
The present municipality was formed in 1971 when Kungsör and Kung Karl, from which Kungsör had been detached as a market town in 1907 were united. Kungsör broke off from Torpa to become a parish in 1700. Prior to 1906 it was called Karlskyrka.
[1]

Kung Karl Parish, Västmanland, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift -1951 Strängnäs, 1952- Västerås
Pastorat 1700-1905 Karlskyrka and Torpa, 1906-1961 Kung Karl and Torpa, 1962- Kung Karl, Torpa, Björskog and Kungs-Barkarö
Län 1700- Västmanland
Landskap Västmanland
Härad Åkerbo
Tingslag 1700-1906 Åkerbo härad, 1906-1928 Västmanlands västra domsaga, 1929-1970 Åkerbo och Skinnskatteberg
Domsaga -1718 Siende, Tuhundra and Åkerbo, 1719-1795 Siende, Tuhundra, Åkerbo and Snevringe, 1796-1857 Åkerbo, 1858-1970 Västmanlands västra, 1971- Köping
Fögderi 1720-1946 Kungsör, 1946- Köping
Kommun 1863-1951 Kung Karl, 1952-1970 Kung Karl (storkommun), 1971- Kungsör (f d storkommunen och köpingen)
Militär indelning Lif-Regementets Grenadier-Corps: Kungsörs Kompani
Vestmanlands Regemente:
Livregementet Till Häst, Livregements (Brigadens Lätta Infanteri-) Grenadjärkår:
Kungsörs kompani
Västmanlands Regemente:
Kungsörs
NAD Ref Code SE/ULA/10669
National Archive SVAR link
Swedish Wikipedia link
SCB Congregation map link
Open Street map link


Place Names

Algryt Lilla, Algryt

Badstugutorp Lilla, Badstugutorp Stora, Bergdalen Stora, Bergsund, Björklund

Dammen Stora, Dammen, Danbo

Ekeby Västra, Ekeby, Erik Erssons torp

Fagerhult, Fallet, Fiskartorp Norra, Fiskartorp Södra

Garlingstorp, Gersilla, Granhammar, Grenadjärtorpet

Hagstugan, Hedtorp, Herrdal, Hogsta, Holmen, Hult Lilla, Hult Stora, Hålltorp, Hässelbäcken

Ingerhult

Johannisberg

Karlsgruvan, Karlstorp, Kilen, Klemensbo, Knubbetorp, Kungsladugården

Larshinderstorp, Lenmora, Lilla Algryt, Lilla Badstugutorp, Lilla Hult, Lilla Lövås, Lilla Melbo, Lilla Slokärr, Lilla Sågbäcken, Lindsved, Ljungås, Lockmora, Lugnet, Lövhult, Lövås Lilla, Lövås Stora

Malmberga, Malmtorp, Melbo Lilla, Melbo Stora, Myrtorp Norra, Myrtorp Södra, Måsen

Nedre Skeftruna, Norra Fiskartorp, Norra Myrtorp, Nytorp, Nämndemans ägor

Petterserg

Reutersbergs ägor, Riddarlund, Råd, Råsta

Sandskogstorp, Skeftruna Nedre, Skeftruna Övre, Skillinge, Skogstorp, Sloget, Slokärr Lilla, Slokärr Stora, Slättkärr, Soldattorpet, Sporrtorp Stora, Stenstuga, Stentorp Västra, Stentorp Östra, Stora Badstugutorp, Stora Bergdalen, Stora Dammen, Stora Hult, Stora Lövås, Stora Melbo, Stora Slökarr Stora Sporrtorp, Stora Sågbäcken, Strömtorp, Svarthäll, Sågartorp, Sågbäcken Lilla, Sågbäcken Stora, Sågen, Sågtorp, Södra Fiskartorp, Södra Myrtorp

Tegelslagaretorp, Tegeltorp, Trädgårdstorp, Täkten

Ulvhäll

Västerhagen, Västra Stentorp

Östra Stentorp, Övre Skeftruna

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Västmanland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Västmanland" and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies


References

Kung Karl, Husförhörslängd 1832-1837, Ortregister

Jurisdictional Information from: Riksarkivet. "Kung Karls Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). April 2012 http://www.nad.riksarkivet.se/