Kristvalla Parish, Kalmar, Sweden Genealogy
Guide to Kristvalla Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 History
- 2 Place Names
- 3 Collections
- 3.1 Census Records
- 3.2 Church Records
- 3.3 Military Records
- 3.4 Related Sources
- 3.5 Help Reading Swedish Records
- 3.6 Help Reading Old Handwriting
- 3.7 Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
- 3.8 References
Kristvalla became a parish in 1656 taking parts of Dörby and Förlösa parishes with the church near Duvetorp. In 1795 Inglesryd was added which came from Kläckeberga parish. With the reform of 1862 the new Kristvalla landskommun took over civil matters. In 1952 this kommun was absorbed into Madesjö kommun. Rosenberg (1882) reports a population of 1,951 but by year 2000 the population was only 780.
Ljungbyån (river) forms a southern boundry of an area marked by woodland and some rolling hills. Agriculture and forestry activities provided most of the economic activity in the late 1800s. A cold-water health spa attracts people at Kristvallabrunn. Three school houses in the late 1800s.
|Kristvalla Parish, Kalmar, Sweden Genealogy|
|Militär indelning||add here|
Backemålen, Björketorp, Blomsterkulla, Bostället Skårebo, Bostället Slättingebygd, Brobacken, Brånen, Bränntorp,
Dalen, Danielsmålen, Danielsmålen Lilla, Dikaremålen, Djurbäcksmålen, Duvetorp, Dufwatorp,
Ekelund, Enemålen, Eriksdal,
Fattigstugan, Figgemålen, Figgetorp, Finnemålen, Flathallen, Fågelleken,
Getabo, Grindemålen, Grindtorpet, Gräsdal, Grönslund, Grönkulle, Gunnabo Norra,
Hagtorpet, Hjältemålen, Holmtorpet, Hultedalen, Hylkebo, Håkansmålen, Högerås,
Klockarebacken, Kolaretorp, Kolstaden, Kopparbo Norra, Kopparbo Södra, Kvarnemålen,
Maltebo, Marrken, Meltorp, Momålen, Morebo, Motorpet, Mårtensmålen,
Prästgården Norra Gunnebo,
Q se K,
Ravelsbygd, Reparetorp, Rosenborg, Räggekulla, Rössbo Släta, Rössbo Öfra,
Siggemåla, Sigtingsryd, Sigboda Westra, Sigboda Östra, Silkesmålen, Sjöboda, Skrifwaregärde, Skräddaremålen, Skårebo, Skyttemålen, Skårebo Boställe, Slätbacken, Släta Rössbo, Släthåremålen, Slätingebygd, Slätingebygdsmåla, Sockenstugan, Starrbäcksbro, Stenråsen, Stjernamo, Storemålen, Stämmaryd, Surbrunnen, Sventorpet, Sårgärda, Söregärde,
Åbro, Åklaryd, Ålaryd, Åsemålen, Åsmundsryd,
To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.
- Surrounding Parishes
- Sweden Household Examination Records (Husförhörslängder)--explanation of this church record which is functionally the census of Sweden.
- Sweden Household Examination Books, 1880 - 1920, ($), index and images. Also on Also on Ancestry.com, ($), Arkiv Digital ($), and SVAR ($).
Online Database Church Records
The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)
- Sweden, Kalmar Church Records, 1577-1907; index 1625-1860, FamilySearch Historical Records.
- MyHeritage.com ($),
- Ancestry.com ($),
- Arkiv Digital ($), and
- SVAR ($).
Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden
- These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:
Family History Library Records
Click Sweden, Kalmat Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Kalmar and then select your parish.
During indelningstid soldiers belonged to Staby skvadron in Växjö kompani in Smålands husarregemente or were båtsmän in Smålands båtmanskompani.
- PLF Database -- A large portion of births, marriages, and deaths have been indexed on CD-Roms for the county of Kalmar. The 4 disc set has been created by Person-och Lokalhistoriskt Forskarcentrum, Oskarshamn (PLF). To learn more about these CD-Roms click here.
- Nixon -- a name index of Biographical and genealogical information for Kalmar and a few other counties. To learn more click here.
Help Reading Swedish Records
- You do not have to be fluent in Swedish to read these records! The have a limited vocabulary: mother, father, born, bride, groom, married, etc. The rest of the content will be names, dates, and places, which do not need translation.
- This Swedish Word List covers typical terms found in the records.
- Swedish Historical Dictionary Database, SHDD: This interactive dictionary allows you to enter a word in the search box and receive the translation.
- Feast Day Calendar (Moveable) and Feast Day Lists (Fixed and Moveable) will help you translate dates written in feast day form.
- Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Sweden Names, Personal.
- For help with reading the column headings found in more recent records, see Swedish Parish Register and Household Exam Roll Headings.
- Instructions, document examples, and translations are given for Reading Swedish Birth and Christening Records 1717, 1752, 1771, 1792, 1803, 1834, 1854.
Help Reading Old Handwriting
- Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records: (free, online lessons at FamilySearch):
Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
Kristvalla, Husförhörslängd 1845-1850, Ortregister
Svenska kyrkan Kristvalla socken. Husförhörslängd 1851. Village index included.
Rosenberg, C M. Geografiskt-statiskt hadlexikon över Sverige.