To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Kristiansund Parish, Møre og Romsdal, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Kristiansund, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Kristiansund Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Trondheim
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1919: Romsdal
Fylke 1919-Present 1919-1935: Romsdal, 1935-: Møre og Romsdal
Region add here
Prestegjeld Kristiansund
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Frei
Fogderi Nordmør
Sorenskriveri Nordmør
Skipreide add here


Church Records =[edit | edit source]

Microfilm at the Family History Library for Kristiansund prestegjeld (clerical district).   Contains parish registers for the parishes Kristiansund, Frei (Fredøe) and Grip. Kristiansund and Grip were separated from Kvernes clerical district and Frei from Tingvoll clerical district in 1827. For earlier records see the above mentioned clerical districts. Registers for the years 1842 to 1897 were damaged by fire. Parish registers from 1731-1920.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Kristiansund: 1828-1947

Kristiansund / Frei: 1818-1832, 1880-1950

Kristiansund / Grip: 1880-1950

Kristiansund / Kristiansund: 1819-1832, 1880-1950

Kvernes: 1731-1870

Kvernes / Grip: 1733-1832

Kvernes / Kristiansund: 1731-1737, 1739-1819

Tingvoll: 1645-1702, 1706-1856

Tingvoll / Frei: 1732-1754, 1819-1834

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1664-1666 see Kvernes clerical district.
  • Folketellingen den 1ste februar 1801, Norge. The 1801 census for Kristiansund city is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online at Digital Archives. (Kristiansund is listed with Kvernes in the 1801 census in the Digital Archives).
  • Folketelling 1835 og 1845 for Kristiansund prestegjeld (Møre og Romsdal). The 1835 census for Kristiansund includes the parishes of Kristiansund, Frei, Grip and Gjemnes. The 1845 census for Kristiansund includes the parishes of Kristiansund, Frei, Grip, Straumsnes and Gjemnes. They are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
  • Folketellingen 1825, 1835, 1845, og 1855 for Kvernes prestegjeld (Møre og Romsdal). The 1825, 1835, 1845, 1855 for Kvernes clerical district includes the parishes of Kristiansund, Kvernes, Bremsnes, Kornstad, Eide, Tingvoll, Surnadal, Stangvik, Sunndal, Edøy, Aure and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
  • (another filming) Folketellingen den 31te desember 1865. The 1865 census for Kristiansund is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
  • Folketellingen for kongeriget Norge den 31te desember 1875. The 1875 census for Kristiansund is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1742-1857: Probates are found in Kristiansund city judicial district.

Before 1742 see Trondheim Sør-Trøndelag and also

Nordmøre judicial districts.

1697-1812: Clerical probates are found in Nordmøre Deanery