Kragerø Parish, Telemark, Norway Genealogy

Norway

Telemark County

Kragerø

Guide to Kragerø, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Kragerø Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/ Diocese	add here
Prosti	add here
Len 1599-1660	Bratsberg
Amt 1689-1919	1660-1919: Bratsberg
Fylke 1919-Present	Telemark
Region	add here
Prestegjeld	N/A
Kommune	add here
Skifteretten	add here
Tinglag	N/A
Fogderi	N/A
Sorenskriveri	N/A
Skipreide	add here

Church Records

• Kragerø clerical district contains parish registers for Kragerø and [Sannidal (Sannikedal) Parish, Telemark, Norway Genealogy|Sannidal (Sannikedal)]] parishes. Kragerø and Sannidal (Sannikedal) were separated from Bamble clerical district in 1738. Kragerø clerical district included Sannidal and Skåtøy until 1868 when Sannidal became its own clerical district. See Sannidal clerical district for records for Sannidal.
  
  

• The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1702-1927.
  
  

Kragerø city: 1702-1969

• Kragerø (Great Britain Consulate Death Register): 1895

Census Records

• 1664-1666 Civil Census: This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  
  

• 1664-1666 Clerical Census: This census was taken by the local parish priests. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  
  

• 1801 Census The 1801 census (b. 30) for Kragerø city is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 122998 Item 4. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • 1801 Norway Census, 1801 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)

• 1865: The 1865 census for Kragerø clerical district included Sandøkedal (Sannidal) and Skaadø (Skåtøy) parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It is available also in print 948.1 A1 no. 113. and for Kragerø city Films 123163-123164 Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • 1865 Norway Census, 1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)

• 1875: The 1875 census for Kragerø city is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, and online at Digital Archives
  • 1875 Norway Census, 1875 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)

• 1885: A special 1885 census for Kragerø city exists and is available in a searchable database online Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

• 1891: The 1891 census for 'Kragerø city is available online in a searchable database at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • 1891 Norway Census, 1891 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)

• 1900: The 1900 census for Kragerø city is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available in a searchable database online at Digital Archives

• 1910: The 1910 census for Kragerø city is available online in a searchable database at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

• The census of 1865, 1875, 1900 and 1910 are also available at the Norwegian Historical Data Center

Farm Books

The book is now available as a downloadable PDF file on the internet Skjærgårdshistorier. It is for the Kragerø area.

Probate Records

Kragerø city district
*1731-1799 Family History Library
*1731-1799 Digitalarkivet

Bamble judicial district
*1665-1869 Family History Library
*1665-1852 Digitalarkivet

Telemark and Bamble deanery
*1696-1806 Family History Library
*1696-1806 Digitalarkivet

Probate Registers for Kragerø 1724-1799 at Digitalarkivet.

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.