Kragerø Parish, Telemark, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Kragerø, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Kragerø Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Bratsberg
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1919: Bratsberg
Fylke 1919-Present Telemark
Region add here
Prestegjeld N/A
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag N/A
Fogderi N/A
Sorenskriveri N/A
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

  • Kragerø clerical district contains parish registers for Kragerø and [Sannidal (Sannikedal) Parish, Telemark, Norway Genealogy|Sannidal (Sannikedal)]] parishes. Kragerø and Sannidal (Sannikedal) were separated from Bamble clerical district in 1738. Kragerø clerical district included Sannidal and Skåtøy until 1868 when Sannidal became its own clerical district. See Sannidal clerical district for records for Sannidal.

Kragerø city: 1702-1969



Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1664-1666 Civil Census: This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

  • 1664-1666 Clerical Census: This census was taken by the local parish priests. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).




  • 1885: A special 1885 census for Kragerø city exists and is available in a searchable database online Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).




  • 1910: The 1910 census for Kragerø city is available online in a searchable database at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).


Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

The book is now available as a downloadable PDF file on the internet Skjærgårdshistorier. It is for the Kragerø area.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Kragerø city district
*1731-1799 Family History Library
*1731-1799 Digitalarkivet

Bamble judicial district
*1665-1869 Family History Library
*1665-1852 Digitalarkivet

Telemark and Bamble deanery
*1696-1806 Family History Library
*1696-1806 Digitalarkivet


Probate Registers for Kragerø 1724-1799 at Digitalarkivet.