Kosovo Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Kosovo ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Kosovo Wiki Topics
Flag of Kosovo.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Kosovo Background
Local Research Resources

Country Information[edit | edit source]

Kosovo is a disputed territory and partially recognised state in Europe bordered by Serbia, Macedonia, Albania, and Montenegro. It was formerly part of the Ottoman Empire. The official languages are Albanian and Serbian.[1]

Getting Started[edit | edit source]

Getting St Findaarted with Kosovo Research

Links to articles on getting started with Kosovo research.

Kosovo Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Kosovo research.

Kosovo Map[edit | edit source]

Kosovo municipalities.gif

Municipalities[edit | edit source]

Kosovo is divided into 38 municipalities. The first name is Albanian, and the second one is Serbian.

  • Deçan / Dečani
  • Dragash / Dragaš
  • Drenas / Glogovac
  • Ferizaj / Uroševac
  • Fushë Kosovë / Kosovo Polje*
  • Gjakova / Đakovica
  • Gjilan / Gnjilane
  • Gracanicë / Gračanica
  • Hani i Elezit / Elez Han
  • Istog / Istok
  • Junik / Junik
  • Kaçanik / Kačanik
  • Kamenicë / Kosovska Kamenica
  • Klinë / Klina
  • Kllokot / Klokot-Vrbovac*
  • Leposaviq / Leposavić
  • Lipjan / Lipljan
  • Malishevë / Mališevo
  • Mamush / Mamuša
  • Mitrovicë Veriore / Severna Mitrovica*
  • Mitrovicë / Kosovska Mitrovica
  • Novobërdë / Novo Brdo*
  • Obiliç / Obilić
  • Rahovec / Orahovac
  • Partesh / Parteš*
  • Pejë / Peć
  • Podujevë / Podujevo
  • Prishtinë / Priština
  • Prizren / Prizren
  • Ranillug / Ranilug*
  • Skënderaj / Srbica
  • Shtërpcë / Štrpce*
  • Shtime / Štimlje
  • Suharekë / Suva Reka
  • Viti / Vitina
  • Vushtrri / Vučitrn
  • Zubin Potok / Zubin Potok*
  • Zveçan / Zvečan*

FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Kosovo," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kosovo, accessed 27 April 2016.