Koschneiderei
Alternatively, the villages of this area were called
the Koschnaewjerdörfer in German
The Koschneiderei (in Polish Kosznajderia) is a distinct cultural area southeast of the city of Konitz, West Prussia, that was settled by Germans at the time of the Teutonic Knights (officially the "Order of Brothers of the German House of Saint Mary in Jerusalem," "Ordo domus Sanctæ Mariæ Theutonicorum Hierosolymitanorum," or "Orden der Brüder vom Deutschen Haus St. Mariens in Jerusalem" Wikipedia article) in the 14th Century A.D.
View a map (abt. 1927-28) of the Koschneiderei here.
The residents of this area retained a distinct language and culture for hundreds of years. While much of West Prussia became Lutheran, this area remained Catholic. Poles and Germans attended the same parishes, resulting in considerable intermarriage.
Some emigrants from the Koschneiderei regard themselves as Poles and others as Germans. In either case, descendants of the Koschneiderei settlers are working together to document its history and families.
Contents
Villages of the Koschneiderei[edit | edit source]
| Village | Kreis | Polish Name | Map | Cath. Par. | Civil Office |
| Abrau | Obrowo | 89-506 Obrowo | E 17°68' N 53°58' | Damerau | Kensau |
| Annafeld | Konitz | 89-430 Nowa Wieś | E 17°49' N 53°58' | Gersdorf/ Görsdorf |
Jakobsdorf |
| Blumfelde | Konitz | 89-430 Niwy | E 17°43' N 53°58' | Gersdorf/ Görsdorf |
Jakobsdorf |
| Damerau | Flatow Flatau |
89-430 Dąbrówka | E 17°62' N 53°58' | Damerau See also Kamin |
Groß Zirkwitz |
| Deutsch Cekzin | Konitz | 89-620 Ciechocin | E 17°70' N 53°61' | Osterwick | Osterwick |
| Döringsdorf | Konitz | 89-620 Doręgowice | E 17°29' N 53°37' | Konitz | Jacobsdorf |
| Frankenhagen | Konitz | 89-620 Silo | E 17°42' N 53°39' | Osterwick, Frankenhagen |
Frankenhagen |
| Gersdorf/ Görsdorf |
Konitz | 89-620 Ogorzeliny | E 17°55' N 53°60' | Gersdorf/ Görsdorf |
Jakobsdorf |
| Granau | Konitz | 89-620 Granowo | E 17°38' N 53°39' | Lichnau | Groß Paglau |
| Groß Zirkwitz | Flatow Flatau |
89-430 Duża Cerkwica | E 17°57' N 53°53' | Kamin/ Camin |
Groß Zirkwitz |
| Harmsdorf | Konitz | 89-430 Jerzmionki | E 17°51' N 53°60' | Gersdorf/ Görsdorf |
Jakobsdorf |
| Henningsdorf | Konitz | 89-620 Angowice | E 17°40' N 53°38' | Konitz | Henningsdorf |
| Jakobsdorf | Konitz | 89-430 Zamarte | E 17°29' N 53°36' | Gersdorf/ Görsdorf |
Jakobsdorf |
| Lichnow | Konitz | 89-620 Lichnowy | E 17°36' N 53°39' | Lichnau | Groß Paglau |
| Mosnitz | Konitz | 89-620 Moszczenica | E 17°29' N 53°38' | Konitz | Henningsdorf |
| Obkaß | Flatau | 89-430 Obkas | E 17°55' N 53°57' | Kamin/ Camin |
Wordel |
| Osterwick | Konitz | 89-620 Ostrowite | E 17°40' N 53°38' | Osterwick | Osterwick |
| Petztin | Tuchel | 89-506 Piastoczyn | E 17°43' N 53°37' | Reetz | Reetz |
| Schlagenthin | Konitz | 89-620 Sławęcin | E 17°62' N 53°60' | Lichnau | Osterwick |
Catholic Parishes of the Koschneiderei[edit | edit source]
The extant Catholic parish registers for the Koschneideri are being extracted and may be searched (pick your flag to change languages) at the Pomeranian Genealogical Association website. Some additional extracted baptism records may be found at the Koschneideri.de website.
| Parish | Kreis | Polish Name | Map | Villages Served | FamilySearch Catalog |
| Damerau | Flatow Flatau |
89-430 Dąbrówka | E 17°62' N 53°58' | Damerau, Abrau | Catalog |
| Frankenhagen | Konitz | 89-620 Silno | E 17°70' N 53°65' | Frankenhagen | Catalog |
| Gersdorf Görsdorf |
Konitz | 89-620 Ogorzeliny | E 17°55' N 53°60' | Gersdorf/Görsdorf + Melanowo, Melanenhof Annafeld Blumfelde + Katharinenhof, Neumühle Harmsdorf Jakobsdorf |
Catalog |
| Kamin/ Camin |
Flatow Flatau |
89-430 Kamień Krajeński |
E 17°52' N 53°54' | Groß-Zirkwitz, Obkaß, Damerau (some years) |
Catalog |
| Konitz | Konitz | 89-430 Chojnice | E 17°55' N 53°69' | Döringsdorf, Henningsdorf, Mosnitz | Catalog |
| Lichnau | Konitz | 89-620 Lichnowy History in Polish |
E 17°60' N 53°65' | Lichnau Granau Schlagenthin |
Catalog |
| Osterwick | Flatow Flatau |
89-620 Ostrowite | E 17°67' N 53°63' | Osterwick, Deutsch Cekzin, Frankenhagen (until 1906) |
Catalog |
| Reetz | Tuchel | 89-502 Raciąż | E 17°79' N 53°66' | Petztin | Catalog |
Civil Records Offices of the Koschneiderei[edit | edit source]
The German word for "Civil Records Office" is "Standesamt." The civil records at the Family History Library (FHL) are very limited. For more information about Polish civil records and how to obtain records not in the FHL, see the Poland Civil Registration page.
| Standesamt | Kreis | Polish Name | Map | Villages Served | FamilySearch Catalog |
| Frankenhagen | Konitz | 89-620 Silno | E 17°70' N 53°65' | Frankenhagen, Osterwick | Catalog |
| Groß Paglau | Konitz | 89-620 Pawłowo | E 17°63' N 53°68' | Granau, Lichnau | Catalog |
| Groß Zirkwitz | Flatau | 89-430 Duża Cerkwica | E 17°57' N 53°53' | Damerau | Catalog |
| Henningsdorf | Konitz | 89-620 Angowice | E 17°56' N 53°66' | Henningsdorf, Lichnau, Mosnitz | None here |
| Jakobsdorf/ Bonstettin |
Konitz | 89-430 Zamarte | E 17°48' N 53°60' | Jakobsdorf, Annafeld, Blumfelde, Döringsdorf, Gersdorf, Harmsdorf | Catalog |
| Kensau | Tuchel | 89-506 Kęsowo | E 17°72' N 53°56' | Abrau | Catalog |
| Osterwick | Flatow Flatau |
89-620 Ostrowite | E 17°67' N 53°63' | Osterwick, Deutsch Cekzin | Catalog |
| Reetz | Tuchel | 89-502 Raciąż | E 17°79' N 53°66' | Petztin | Catalog |
| Wordel | Flatow | 89-430 Orzełek | E 17°49' N 53°55' | Obkaß | Catalog |
Koschneiderei books[edit | edit source]
Note: If you have trouble viewing these books on the web, find link in lower right corner:
"You can view this publication in different way. Try others! More..."
and click on the "More."
| Author | Title | Publication |
| Panske, Paul | Familien der Koschnaewjerdörfer im achtzehnten Jahrhundert : nach amtlichen Quellen Sonder-Abdruck aus Heft 20 der Deutschen Wissenschaftl. Zeitschrift f. Polen. From the Family History Library. |
Posen 1930 Verl.d.Hist.Ges. |
| Panske, Paul | Personennachweis für die Koschnäwjerdörfer (Koschneiderei) von 1651-1702 On the web. From the Family History Library. |
Posen 1938 Verl.d.Hist.Ges. |
| Rink, Dr. Joseph | Die Geschichte der Koschneiderei - Ihre Bevölkerung im Jahre 1772 und Ende 1919, nebst einem Anhang "Neues zu den Orts- und Flurnamen in der Koschneiderei" (K-B 10) Quellen u. Darstellungen zur Geschichte WP, 1 On the web. From the Family History Library. |
Danzig 1932 Danz.Verl.Ges. |
| Rink, Dr. Joseph | Volksweisheit aus Koschneidermund (K-B 25) Deutsche Monatshefte in Polen Jg.6 H.8/9 |
Kattowitz 1940 Gauverl. NS. Schlesien |
| Rink, Dr. Joseph | Nochmalige Ergänzungen zu Volkskundlichem über den Menschen aus Koschneidermund (K-B 27) Bericht des Westpreußischen Botanisch-Zoologischen Vereins, 62 |
Danzig 1940 J.Sauer |
| Rink, Dr. Joseph | Die Koschneiderei im Wechsel der Zeit (K-B 28) Sonderdruck aus: "Der Deutsche im Osten" Jg. 3, Heft 7 |
Danzig 1940 Danziger Vorposten |
| Rink, Dr. Joseph | Volksmärchen aus Koschneidermund (K-B 30) Deutsche Monatshefte in Polen Jg. 8 H. 6/7 From the Family History Library. |
Posen 1941 |
| Semrau, August | Plattdeutsche Gedichte in Koschneider Mundart | Konitz 1845 |
| Semrau, Dr. Maria | Die Mundart der Koschneiderei Zeitschrift für Deutsche Mundarten Jg.1915 Heft 2 |
Halle a.d.S. 1915 Waisenhaus |
Koschneiderei on the web[edit | edit source]
- Koschneiderei/Kosznajderia at ahnenwiese.de (in English).
- Die Koschneiderei at glischinski.de (in German).
- Die Koschneiderei at koschneiderei.de (in German).
Site also includes some records extraction! - Kuchenbecker-Ahnen database (in English).
- Wikipedia article (in German).
- Wikipedia article (in Polish).
- Wikipedia article (in French).
Individuals researching the Koschneiderei[edit | edit source]
- Kurt Matthia, Pleasant Grove, Utah, his website.
- Michael Musolf, Moers, Germany, his website.
- Peter Pankau, Heikendorf, Germany, his website.
- Felizitas Wiese, Germany, her website
