To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Kopervik Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Kopervik, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records. Kopervik is in the Karmøy Region. Other parishes in this region include Karmøy the parishes of Avaldsnes, Kopervik (Stangeland), Skudenes, Skudeneshavn, Torvastad (Torvestad), Falnes, Ferkingstad and Åkra.

Kopervik Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Stavanger
Amt 1689-1919 1662-1682: Stavanger stiftamt,
1682-1919: Stavanger amt
Fylke 1919-Present Rogaland
Region add here
Prestegjeld Kopervik
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Aakre
Fogderi Ryfylke
Sorenskriveri Karmsund
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Records begin in 1711 when Kopervik parish was included in Avaldsnes clerical district. It included Kopervik parish from 1855-1887 which became its own clerical district in 1888. Separate books were kept from 1881 for Kopervik bysogn and Kopervik landsogn (Stangaland) and also for the parish clerks records from 1891.

Kopervik clerical district contains priest and sexton records from the parishes Kopervik and Åkra. Kopervik parish was separated from Avaldsnes clerical district in 1887 and together with Åkra parish from Skudenes clerical district became Kopervik clerical district on 1 Jan 1888. Earlier records for Åkra parish burned in 1841. These (Avaldsnes clerical district) and (Kopervik clerical district) records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.

Avaldsnes / Avaldsnes: 1711-1939

Avaldsnes / Avaldsnes, Kopervik: 1711-1982

Avaldsnes/ Kopervik: 1880-1919

Kopervik: 1877-1982

Kopervik / Kopervik: 1877-1973

Kopervik / Kopervik og Åkra: 1877-1982

Kopervik / Ladestedet: 1880-1982

Kopervik / Landsoknet: 1880-1969

Kopervik / Åkra: 1881-1982

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1663-1666: Tax lists (Manntall) for Stavanger Amt now Rogaland Fylke.

Fogdernes og sorenskrivernes manntall 1664-1666 This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.

Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666 This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. This clerical census is more complete.

  • 1701: Tax lists (Manntall)

Manntall 1701 The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. Also includes the residence of all unmarried males living away from home when the census was taken.

Digitalarkivet Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt

  • 1758:

Sjeleregister (Census)

Digitalarkivet original images of the sjeleregister.

  • 1801: Census

Avaldsnes clerical district includes Avaldsnes, Førdesfjord, and Kopervik parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.

Digitalarkivet 1801 -telling (census) for Avaldsnes

  • 1865: Census

Avaldsnes Census This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. Digitalarkivet 1865 -telling for Avaldsnes

  • 1875: Census

Avaldsnes prestegjeld This 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information.

Digitalarkivet 1875-teljinga for Avaldsnæs

  • 1900: Census

Kopervik Census 1900 This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Digitalarkivet 1900-telling for Kopervik

  • 1910: Census

Countdown for the publication of the 1910 census by Digitalarkivet

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Book[edit | edit source]

A genealogy and a history of the people and their farms in Stangaland and Kopervik communities on the island, Karmøy, in Rogaland county, Norway.

Lillehammer, Arnvid, "Stangaland og Kopervik", Karmøy: Utgitt av Bygdebokutvalget i Karmøy, 1985. 948.31/S13 D2L FHL Intl Book

Farm Book on the Internet[edit | edit source]

Karmøy Genealogy Club is creating an internet accessable listing of the families who have lived on Karmøy. The sources for this website are "Bygdebok for Karmøy," Norges Bybyggelse, notes of Johannes Mjølhus, the church books, probate records, census records, and private family information.

The family listings are by the farm which they lived on. The explanation of the website is in English but the family information is in Norwegian.

You will find a list of all the farms which are found in the modern Karmøy kommune. As the information comes available there will be a link from the table to the information on a specific farm. On the internet you will only find information of those inhabitants who had registered descendants. A more complete listing is found in the office in Skudeneshavn. You can E-mail inquires to Slektsforum.karmoy@c2i.net.

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

8 Asaldalen, 7 Austreim, 6 Austreimsneset,

12 Brekke,

11 Eide Eide ytre,

5 Kalvetræet,

2 Mid-Stokke,

5 Rusnes,

13 Skaar, 5 Stangeland, 4 Stokke nordre, 1 Stokke søndre, 14 Sund, 3 Søndenaa,

5 Torviken,

15 Ytreland

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For 1666-1795 the probates are found in Ryfylke og Karmsund judicial district.
For 1793-1901 they are found in Karmsund judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1692-1812 are found in Karmsund deanery.

Availability[edit | edit source]

Ryfylke og Karmsund judicial district
*1666-1795 Family History Library
*1666-1795 Digitalarkivet
*1666-1815 Probate card indexes sorted by farm name Digitalarkivet

Karmsund judicial district
*1793-1901 Family History Library
*1793-1901 Digitalarkivet.

Karmsund deanery
*1692-1812 Clerical probate records Family History Library
*1692-1812 Digitalarkivet.

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names