To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Knox County, Maine Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Knox County, Maine)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Knox County, Maine ancestry, family history, and genealogy, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}

Knox County, Maine
Map
Map of Maine highlighting Knox County
Location in the state of Maine
Facts
Founded April 1, 1860
County Seat Rockland
Courthouse
Address Knox County Courthouse
62 Union Street PO Box 885
Rockland, ME 04841-0885
Phone: 207.594.9379
Knox County Website


Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Henry Knox. The County has Rockland as its seat and the County was created April 1, 1860. The County is located in the south area of the state.[1]

Knox County, Maine Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1892 1892 1892 1860 1860 1860 1790
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1892. General compliance year unknown.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

  • Town Clerks have birth, marriage, and death records.
  • Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records.
  • 1860 - Probate Court has probate records from 1860.
  • 1860 - Register of Deeds has land records from 1860.[3]
    Gen. Henry Knox, U.S. Army

History[edit | edit source]

  • Named for American Revolutionary War general and Secretary of War, Henry Knox, who lived in the county from 1795 until his death in 1806.

Parent County[edit | edit source]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Maine: Individual County Chronologies

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities[edit | edit source]

MaineKnox CountyLincoln CountyWaldo CountyKennebec CountyHancock CountyAppletonWashingtonUnionHopeCamdenRockportRocklandWarrenMuscle Ridge TownshipThomastonFriendshipCushingSt. GeorgeSouth ThomastonOwls HeadNorth HavenHurricane Isle (now part of Vinalhaven)VinalhavenIsle au HautMatinicus (Plantation)Criehaven TownshipMonhegan (Plantation)Louds Island (aka Muscongus Isle Plantation)BristolBremenDamariscottaNobleboroWaldoboroJeffersonSomervilleHibberts GorePalermoChinaAlbionLibertyMontvilleFreedomKnoxMorrillSearsmontBelmontLincolnvilleNorthportBelfastWaldoBrooksSwanvilleSearsportStockton SpringsIslesboroSurryPenobscotCastineBrooksvilleSedgwickBlue HillBrooklinEagle IslandDeer IsleStoningtonEagle Island
Modern town borders in Knox County, Maine. Towns with records are named in black. Unincorporated green places usually lack records.

Neighboring Counties

Lincoln | Waldo | Hancock

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this census area:[5]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Unorganized territories

Plantations

Extinct towns and plantations[6]

Criehaven Plantation | Hurricane Isle | Muscle Ridge Plantation

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
USGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
USGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
ME Interment
Billion Graves
See Maine Cemeteries for more information.

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at: Maine, Knox County Cemetery Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Churches[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Maine denominations, view the Maine Church Records wiki page.

Courts[edit | edit source]

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Maine, Knox County Probate Estate Files - FamilySearch Historical Records

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Maine Land and Property for additional information about early Maine land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Knox County, Maine Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Maine Local Histories.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Lincoln CountyKnox CountyWaldo CountyHancock CountyME Knox.jpg
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Knox County, Maine Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Knox County, Maine Genealogy:

- 4th Regiment, Maine Infantry 

Online Records

World War I[edit | edit source]

Naturalization[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Finding More Maine Newspapers[edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Knox County, Maine Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Maine tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

In Maine, vital records are kept by town clerks or selectmen. Although some towns have existed since the 1650s, most vital records date from about 1700. The vital statistics are often arranged by family. For more information, see the Wiki page for the town and the Wiki page, Maine Vital Records.

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites[edit | edit source]

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Maine, Knox County Cemetery Records, 1800-2007 - FamilySearch Historical Records

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Knox County, Maine" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Knox_County,_Maine."
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Knox County, Maine. Page 304-305 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 275.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Knox County, Maine page 304, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Knox County, Maine," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Knox_County,_Maine, accessed 4 July 2019.
  6. Before an extinct town (or plantation) was discontinued, it created official town records of interest to genealogists. For preservation these records were usually turned over to a nearby functioning town in the same county.