To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Knox, Albany County, New York Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Knox, New York
Map
Map of Albany County, New York highlighting Knox
Location in Albany County, New York
Map of New York highlighting Albany County, New York
Albany County, New York's location in the state of New York
Facts
Founded 1822
Website: www.knoxny.org/

Quick Facts[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Biography[edit | edit source]

  • Helderberg Hilltowns (Rensselaerville, Berne, Knox, Westerlo) wiki for history and genealogy including biographies and stories, cemeteries, churches, images, maps, and organizations.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Knox Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Frink Cemetery[edit | edit source]
Knox Cemetery[edit | edit source]
High Point Cemetery[edit | edit source]
Lee Church Cemetery[edit | edit source]
Old Knox Cemetery[edit | edit source]
Quay Road Cemetery[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Church Databases

  • Helderberg Hilltowns (Rensselaerville, Berne, Knox, Westerlo) wiki for history and genealogy including biographies and stories, cemeteries, churches, images, maps, and organizations.

Original Church Records

  • Adam Cminse. Record of baptisms and marriages, St. James Evangelical Lutheran Church, Guilderland, New York, 1784-1873 ((Salt Lake City, Utah: Genealogical Society of Utah, 1941). FHL Film 117678 Item 2

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

  • Helderberg Hilltowns (Rensselaerville, Berne, Knox, Westerlo) wiki for history and genealogy including biographies and stories, cemeteries, churches, images, maps, and organizations.

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Archives, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]

The town of Knox does not have a library but check out the Upper Hudson Library System of which Albany County is a part of, to locate the towns close to Knox that have public libraries.

Albany Public Library
Main Library
161 Washington Avenue
Albany, NY 12210
Phone: 518-427-4300
Fax: 518-449-3386
E-mail: plweb@albanypubliclibrary.org

Genealogical Resources: Albany History Room hours differ from regular library hours. Pruyn Collection of Albany History housed in the Albany History Room of the library. Collection includes city directories, newspapers, and census records on film and online.

Societies[edit | edit source]

Knox Historical Society
P.O. Box 11
Knox, NY 12107
Phone: 518–872-2082
Email: knoxhistorical@hotmail.com

Town Clerk[edit | edit source]

Knox Town Clerk
Knox Town Hall
PO Box 116
Knox, NY 12107
Phone: 518–872-2551

Town Historian[edit | edit source]

Knox Town Historian
PO Box 38
Knox, NY 12107
Phone: 518–872–2551
Email: knoxhistorical@hotmail.com

Town Records[edit | edit source]

To locate additional published and transcribed records for Knox, Albany County, New York Genealogy check:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). American Ancestors online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.


References[edit | edit source]

Places[edit | edit source]