To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Knowl Hill, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Knowl Hill, Berkshire)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Knowl Hill, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Knowl Hill, Berkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Beynhurst; Wargrave
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Cookham
Registration District Cookham; Wokingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1842
Bishop's Transcripts: 1842
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Reading
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

KNOWL-HILL, a village in Hurley parish, and a chapelry partly also in Wargrave parish, Berks. The village stands 3 miles NE of Twyford r. station, and 4½ WSW of Maidenhead. [1]

Knowl Hill is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Berkshire, created in 1842 from Hurley Ancient Parish and Wargrave Ancient Parish.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Knowl Hill parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Berkshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = England & Wales Christenings and Marriages (Ancestry) - ($)
Knowl Hill Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP



1842-1966
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1530-1980
1538-1988


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Baptist

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Knowl Hill part in Hurley and part in Wargrave in Genuki

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales

Berkshire Record Office

Berkshire Family History Society

FamilySearch