Knivsta Parish, Stockholm, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Knivsta parish, Sweden)
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden
Stockholm County
Knivsta
Sweden
Uppsala County
Knivsta


Guide to Knivsta Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Knivsta Church
Old Knivsta Church

History

Until 1971 Knivsta was a municipality in Stockholm County, when it was merged into Uppsala Municipality,
On January 1, 2003 Knivsta was separated from Uppsala to once again form a separate municipality, located in Uppsala County. After 1971 see Uppsala län.
[1]

Knivsta Parish, Stockholm, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Uppsala ärkestift
Pastorat -1936 Alsike and Knivsta, 1936-1961 Knivsta and Alsike, 1962-1971 Knivsta, Alsike, Lagga, Östuna and Vassunda, 1972- Knivsta, Alsike, Lagga, Östuna, Vassunda and Husby-Långhundra
Län 1634-1639 Uppsala, 1640-1647 Stockholm, 1648-1651 Uppsala, 1652-1653 Stockholm, 1654-1714 Uppsala, 1715-1970 Stockholm, 1971- Uppsala
Landskap Uppland
Härad Ärlinghundra
Tingslag -1884 Ärlinghundra härad, 1885-1970 Stockholms läns västra domsaga
Domsaga 1680-1843 see Alsike, 1844-1970 Stockholms läns västra, 1971- Uppsala
Fögderi 1720-1881 see Alsike, 1882-1917 Stockholms läns västra, 1918-1966 Svartsjö, 1967-1970 Sollentuna, 1971- Uppsala
Kommun 1863-1951 Knivsta, 1952-1970 Knivsta (storkommun), 1971- Uppsala
Militär indelning Upplands Regemente: Hundra Härads kompani and Sigtuna kompani, - 1791 Livregementet till Häst: Livkompaniet, 1791 - 1815 Livregementsbrigadens Kyrassiärkår: Livskvadronen, 1815 - Livregementets Dragonkår (Dragoner): Livskvadronen



Place Names

Apelbo

Bergendal, Boängen

Djupvreten, Djurgården

Engsjö, Eriksbordet

Fattighuset, Finntorpet, Fiskartorpet, Forsby, Forsby gård, Forsby kvarn

Glömtomt, Grillby, Grindtorpet, Grönberget, Gröndal

Haglund, Hagtorpet lilla eller Säby lilla, Högbogrind

Karlsgård, Klockaregården, Knivsta gård, Knivsta kvarn, Kråklund, Kvarnbordet, Kvarntorpet, Källbacken, Källtorpet, Kölängen

Ledinge, Lilla Hagtorpet eller Lilla Säby, Lilla Nybygget, Lilla Näset, Lilla Säby eller Lilla Hagtorpet, Lilla Vrå, Lilla Älgbodarna, Ljusendal, Lugnet, Långhammar, Långängen

Marbo, Myrvreten

Noor, Nordanlund, Nybodarne, Nybygget Lilla, Nyhagen, Nykvarn, Nysätra, Nytorp, Nyvreten, Näset, Näset Lilla

Oleda, Oxhagen

Rosendal, Rosenlund, Råbacken

Sandvreten, Segersta, Sjögärdet, Sjötorpet, Skogstorpet, Skottsila, Skottsila ägor, Sollbo, Stentorpet, Stora Vrå, Stora Älgbodarna, Sågtorpet, Säby, Säby Lilla eller Hagtorpet Lilla, Säby torp eller Ängsbo, Sätran, Södertorpet

Tarv, Tarvs ägor, Timmerbordet, Tomta, Torslöt, Trunsta, Trångsjön, Trädfallet

Udden

Vendtbordet, Vickeby, Vickeby ägor, Vrå Lilla, Vrå Stora, Vrå Torp, Vrå ägor

Åkbacken

Älgbodarna Lilla, Älgbodarna Stora, Ängeby, Ängsbo eller Säby torp

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Uppsala Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Uppsala and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies

References

Knivsta parish, Husförhörslängd, 1831-1835, Ort register.

Riksarkivet. "Knivsta" Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). September 2011 http://www.nad.ra.se/