Klepp Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Klepp, Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search
Norway
Rogaland County
Klepp

Guide to Klepp, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Klepp Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 add here
Amt 1689-1919 add here
Fylke 1919-Present add here
Region add here
Prestegjeld add here
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag add here
Fogderi add here
Sorenskriveri add here
Skipreide add here


Church Records

Klepp church.jpg
Records for Klepp clerical district begin in 1787. They contain priest and sexton records from the parishes Klepp, Orre and Bore. The earlier church records were burned in 1784 and 1793. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.


Records of the Free Apostolic Christian congregation in Klepp and Stavanger from 1859 to 1903. Includes lists of members, births and deaths.

Census Records

This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete. 1663-1666 Census for Stavanger district at Digitalarkivet.

The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. May also include the residence of a male servant if he came from a different clerical district. Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt at Digitalarkivet.

The 1801 census (b. 38) for Klepp clerical district includes Klepp, Orre, and Bore parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation. 1801-telling for Klep at Digitalarkivet.

This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, place of birth, age, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. 1865-telling for Klep at Digitalarkivet.

This 1875 census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. 1875-teljing for Klep at Digitalarkivet.

This census contains the persons name, sex, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. 1900-telling for Klep at Digitalarkivet.

Court Records

The court records contain reports of civil and criminal actions, including the allodial rights, a system of ownership by which an owner has all rights associated with possessing a property. You will find names, dates, places, and relationships in these records. The records have no indexes, and therefore require time to study. They are excellent sources for genealogical research and at times you can find entire families through several generations. These records must be used in conjunction with the mortgage records, probate records, or other records.

Court records at the Family History Library, 1613-1701

These records are for Jæren and Dalane judicial districts which include these places: Hetland (Frue), Høyland, Klepp, Time (Lye), Håland, Ogna, Sandnes, Helleland, Egersund, Lund, Sokndal, Heskestad, , Bjerkreim, Randaberg, Sola, Madla, Varhaug, Nærbø, and Gjestal in Rogaland county.

Land Records

Probate Records

For 1666-1822 the probates are found in Jæren og Dalane judicial district.
For 1823-1882 they are found in Jæren judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1729-1807 are found in Jæren deanery. `

Availability

Jæren og Dalane judicial district
*1666-1822 Family History Library
*1667-1860 Digitalarkivet
*1666-1815 Probate card indexes sorted by farm name Digitalarkivet

Jæren judicial district
*1763-1821 Family History Library
*1859-1896 Digitalarkivet.

Jæren deanery
*1763-1821 Clerical probate records Family History Library
*1763-1821 Digitalarkivet.

Klepp police station
*1910-1932 death protocol Digitalarkivet

Farm Book

Brunes, Erling and Øvregård, Andreas, "Klepp gards- og ættesoga gjenom 400 år 1519-1900", Stavanger, Norway: Utgjeve ved Klepp kommune, 1963 948.31/K1 D2b FHL Intl Book A genealogy of the people and the farms they lived on in Klepp in Rogaland county with some history of the area. A farm name index to this book is found in the following link. File:948.31-K1 D2b Klepp.pdf

Index to Klepp gards- og ættesoga gjenom 400 år byWaula, Jørg Eirik Waula, "Klepp gards- og ættesoge personregister", Stavanger, Norway: Rogaland Historie og Ættesogelag, 1996. 948.31/K1 D2b index FHL INTL Book

Brunes, Erling, Klepp, Stavanger, 1964. An alphabetical list of the farms in Klepp in Rogaland county with the names of the people living on them as listed in the 1900 and 1960 censuses. FHL 948.31/K1 X28b A PDF version of the farms is found at this link. File:948.31-K1 X28b - KLEPP.pdf

Farm Names

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

14 Anda,

10 Engelsvold

13 Fjogstad, 24 Fristad,

3 Grude

23 Haaland vestre, 2 Haaland østre, 11 Hatteland, 19 Hauge, 1 Haugebakke, 18 Hesthaug, 1 Holen, 27 Horpestad øvre,

26 Katteland, 1 Kleppe, 21 Kregene,

15 Laland,

5 Mæland

25 Nese, 21 Nordbraud,

9 Orstad

23 Præstegaarden,

12 Risjell, 24 Rævhaug,

23 Solbrek, 6 Stangeland, 4 Storhaug, 20 Svartholen, 16 Særeim, 20 Sørbraud, 22 Sørbø øvre,

18 Tjøtte, 17 Tu,

7 Vaule

7 Øksnevad nedre

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names