Klamath County, Oregon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Klamath County, Oregon)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Oregon
Klamath County

Guide to Klamath County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Klamath County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Klamath County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded October 17, 1882
County Seat Klamath Falls
Courthouse
Address Klamath County Courthouse
304 Main Street
Klamath Falls, Or 97601-6385
Klamath County Website



County Information


Klamath County, Oregon Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1882 1890 1870 1882

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1882
and military records from 1919.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, probate and court records. [1]

Klamath County Government

County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Klamath County Court House as of August 2006.

Klamath County Court is structured differently. Check the County Records Inventory link for addresses for location of records (left column).

  • Record Loss:

Historical Facts

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Klamath County, Oregon

Named for a tribe of Native Americans living in the area at the time the first white explorers entered the region, the Klamaths.

Tidbits: Little biographic bits associated with the names of non-population localities.

Parent County

17 October 1882: Created from west part of Lake County. [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Bonanza | Chiloquin | Klamath Falls | Malin | Merrill

Communities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Algoma | Altamont | Beatty | Bly | Chemult | Dairy | Gilchrist | Keno | Midland | Pine Grove | Sprague River

Indian Reservation

Klamath

Neighboring Counties

Deschutes | Douglas | Jackson | Lake | Lane | California counties: Modoc | Siskiyou

Trivia Tidbits

Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. Trivia Tidbits

Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
ORGenWeb Archives WorldCat Billion Graves
Tombstone Project
ORInterment
ORGravestones
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Oregon Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Federal

1890
1900
1910
1920
1930

Church History and Records (Rural)

Court

Gazetteers

History

Land and Property

Maps

Orklamath.jpg

Military

Civil War

Newspapers

Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Probate Records

Online Records

Rivers and Waterways

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Birth

Societies, Libraries and Museums

Klamath Basin Genealogical Society
126 S. 3rd St
Klamath Falls OR 97601
E-mail:kbgs@charter.net
Website

Klamath Basin Genealogical Society
c/o Klamath County Library
126 South 3rd St.
Klamath Falls, OR 97601

Klamath County Museum
1451 Main St.
Klamath Falls, OR 97601
Telephone: 541-883-4208
Website


Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Genealogy Websites

Klamath County Oregon Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Klamath County, Oregon page 573, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. WorldCat 50140092; FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)