Kirkleatham, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Kirkleatham, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kirkleatham, Yorkshire
Kirkleatham St Cuthbert Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Langbaurgh
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Guisborough
Registration District Guisbrough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cleveland
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office


Parish History[edit | edit source]

Kirkleatham St Cuthbert is an Ancient parish. Other places in the parish include: Yerby East and West Coatham.

KIRK-LEATHAM (St. Cuthbert), a parish, in the union of Guisborough, E. division of the liberty of Langbaurgh, N. riding of York, 4 miles (N. N. W.) from Guisborough; containing, with the chapelry of Wilton, 1075 inhabitants, of whom 714 are in the township of Kirk-Leatham. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online data content from chapelry registers of Kirkleatham exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
KIRKLEATHAM PARISH (1559) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1559-1901

1559-1900

1567-1902

JOIN None

1559-1837

None

AC None

None

None

IARC 1559-1812

1559-1812

1567-1812

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.



Records are also available at the North Yorkshire County Record Office.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Guisborough Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 697-701. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.