Kirke Stillinge Parish, Sorø, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Sorø County
Kirke Stillinge

History

Church Stillinge is a small town in Southwest Zealand with 713 inhabitants ( 2011 ) [1] . Church Stillinge is located near the Great Belt three kilometers east of King Mark Beach , five miles west of Havre Mountain and eight miles northwest of Slagelse . The city belongs Slagelse Municipality and is situated in Church Stillinge Parish . Stillinge Church located in the city.

Add here
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Add here
Pastorat (chapelry) Add here
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Antvorskov
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Sorø
Herred (district) Slagelse
Kommune (municipality) Kirke Stillinge
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 14
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 48
1870 – Udskrivningskred Lægd number 2/319
Gods (estate) Valbygård gods; Antvorskov birk Birketing; Bøstrup gods


Place Names

Almindkrog,

Barkemose Huse, Bildsø, Bildsø, Lb., Bildsøstrand, Birkemose, Brohuset,

Gasekær Huse,

Hyldemark,

Kelstrup, Kelstrup Gasekærsmark, Kelstrup Hyllemark, Kelstrup Mark, Kelstrup Strand, Kelstrup, Lb., Kildemark, Kildemark, Hse., Kirke Stillinge, Knudsrødgaard, Kommenhøje, Kongsmark Strand, Kongsmark, Lille-, Kongsmark, Store-,

Lille Kongsmark, Lynghuse,

Næsby Fed, Næsby Huse, Næsby ved Stranden,

Stillinge Strand, Stillinge, Kirke-, Lb., Stillinge, Øster-, Lb., Store Kongsmark,

Tjæreby Vejle, Trælleborg,

Øster Stillinge

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Sorø Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, Sorø" and then select your parish.

References

-Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase."
http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/,
-Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4te ed. Vol.3, Sorø Amt,
København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1921