To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Kirkby Ravensworth (Kirby-on-the Hill), Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Kirby Hill St Peter & St Felix Yorkshire.jpg

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Kirkby Ravensworth is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire; sometimes referred to as Kirkby-on the-Hill. Other places in the parish include: Washton, Whashton, Casey Green, Gayles, Ravensworth, Hellwith, Kirby Hill, New Forest, Newsham, and Hallgate.

see Kirkby Ravensworth, Yorkshire
KIRKBY-RAVENSWORTH (St. Peter and St.Felix), a parish, in the union of Richmond, wapentake of Gilling-West, N. riding of York, 4¾ miles(N. N. W.) from Richmond; containing, with the townships of Ravensworth, Washton, Dalton, Gayles, New-Forest, and part of Newsham, 1451 inhabitants, of whom 109 are in the township of Kirkby-Ravensworth,or Kirkby-on-the-Hill. This parish comprises about14,000 acres, of which a considerable number are moor,and the remainder arable, meadow, and pasture. Its surface is varied with hill and dale, and is in some parts well wooded; the soil is generally fertile. There are quarries of good freestone, two of which are extensively wrought; a copper-mine, also, discovered many years since, was wrought for a short time, but, not yielding a remunerating supply, was discontinued. The village,which is small but neatly built, is pleasantly situated eminence, commanding some fine views. The living is a perpetual curacy; net income, £120; patron, the Bishop of Chester, as appropriator of the rectory,which is valued in the king's books at £25. 5. 2½.The church is a handsome edifice with a lofty embattled tower, erected in 1397, on the site of a more ancient church. The Grammar school and Hospital of St. John the Baptist were founded in 1556, by Dr. Dakyn, rector of the parish, who endowed them with lands at East Cowton, now producing £1100 per annum, for the instruction of boys, and the support of the aged and indigent.There are some remains of a castle founded by Bodin,ancestor of the Fitz-Hugh family.

From:  Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 692-697. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51082 Date accessed: 30 April 2011.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Kirkby Ravensworth (Kirby-on-the Hill) parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Yorkshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP BTs = Yorkshire Bishop's Transcripts of Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Yorkshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Yorkshire, Archbishop Of York Marriage Licences Index, 1613-1839 (FindMyPast) - ($)
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[1]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Kirkby Ravensworth (Kirby-on-the Hill) Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-2000
1534-1942
1537-2016
FMP BTs 1558-1914
1558-1899
1560-1919
FMP Banns

1600-1932


FMP Marr

1613-1839


JOIN

1606-1812


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-2005
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the North Yorkshire County Record Office.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  1. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch