Kirkby Malzeard, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Kirkby Malzeard, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Kirkby Malzeard, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Ripon|
|Registration District||Pateley Bridge; Ripon|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1683|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Masham|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
KIRKBY-MALZEARD (St. Andrew), a market town and parish, in the Lower division of the wapentake of Claro, West Riding of York; comprising the townships of Azerley, Fountains-Earth, Grewelthorpe, Kirkby-Malzeard, Laverton, Stonebeck-Down, and Upper Stonebeck, and the chapelry of Hartwith cum Winsley. There are separate chapels with registers of baptisms, and burials and some marriages at Dallowgill or Dallaghill in Laverton, Grewelthorpe Hartwith, Mickley in Azerley, Middlesmoor, and Ramsgill in Stonebeck-Down. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Kirkby Malzeard parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Kirkby Malzeard Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the West Yorkshire Archive Service.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 692-697. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.