Kirk Hallam, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Kirk Hallam, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Kirk Hallam, Derbyshire|
Kirk Hallam All Saints Derbyshire
|Hundred||Appletree; Moreleston and Litchurch|
|Poor Law Union||Shardlow|
|Registration District||Belper; Shardlow|
|Parish registers: 1700|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1662|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Kirk Hallam is an Ancient Parish in the county of Derbyshire.Other places in the parish include: Mapperley.
HALLAM, KIRK (All Saints), a parish, partly in the union of Belper, hundred of Appletree, and partly in the union of Shardlow, hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby, 8¾ miles (E. N. E.) from Derby with the township of Mapperly. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Kirk Hallam became part of Ilkeston registration district in 1934
Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).
Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Kirk Hallam parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Kirk Hallam All Saints (1700) Parish Online Records|
Derbyshire Record Office reference D1537 has deposited registers Bap 1700-2003 Mar 1700-200 Burials 1700-1992 Banns 1755-1801, 1851-1997
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Kirk Hallas on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 372-379. Date accessed: 17 June 2013.