Guide to Kiowa Indians ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and other agency records.
To get started on American Indian Research
Alternative Names and Spellings: Kiowa, Kioway, Kaigwa, Gaigwa
Cultural area: Great Plains - western Montana, migrated to Wyoming and western South Dakota
Linguistic group: Kiowan
Federal Status: recognized
Kiowas Societies: Buffalo Doctor Society; Owl Doctor Society; Sun Dance Shield Society; Eagle Shield Society; only men were members of these societies. There was one society of a select older group of women known as Bear Women Society.
Pictorial history of the tribe known as winter and summer counts
Population: 1990: 10,000
1984: Total enrollment 8,602. 
- 1 Tribal Headquarters
- 2 History
- 3 Records
- 4 Important Websites
- 5 References
- 6 Bibliography
Tribal Headquarters[edit | edit source]
Kiowa Tribe of Oklahoma
P.O. Box 369
Carnegie, OK 73015
- Kiowa Tribe of Oklahoma Official Website
History[edit | edit source]
A French explorer, Rene-Robert Cavalier, Sieure de La Salle, in the late 1680's, was the first to record an encounter with the Kiowa Indians.
Smallpox epidemics in 1781, and 1801 caused a depopulation of the Kiowa tribe
Inter tribal conflict with the Cheyenne - Arapaho and Sioux pressed the Kiowa to move from the Black Hill area in to the Great Plains area. In the 1790's they migrated with the Comanche into what is now New Mexico.
In 1805 the Lewis and Clark Expediton encountered some Kiowa living along the North Platte River in Nebraska, in 1806 this group migrated to southern Kansas and northern Oklahoma. The Northern Kiowa and Southern Kiowa reunited in 1806
The Osage Indians attacked a Kiowa camp killing many, this became known as the Cut-Throat Massacre.
In 1849 many of the tribe suffered and died due to Cholera epidemic; more than half the tribe died.
In the 1860's a campaign of extermination against the Indians was promoted by Governor John Evans.
The Sand Creek Massacre, on November 29,1864 occurred when the Colorado militia under the command of Colonel John Chivington attack a friendly group of Kiowa; Black Kettle's camp where an American Flag flew. The tribe had been promised protection as long as the flag flew over their camp.
A treaty in 1865 at the Little Arkansas River assigned the Kiowa and the Comanche to a reservation in Indian Territory and proposed that a census be take at the time of annuity payment in the spring of each year.
Winter attacks in November 1868 were directed by General Sheridan, the attacks were lead by Major Andrew W. Evans, Eugene A.Carr and Colonel George Armstrong Custer against the Indians along the Canadian and Washita Rivers.
In 1868 the Kiowa moved with the Comanche to Indian Territory.
A measles epidemic killed more than 300 Kiowa, Comanche and Kiowa-Apache.
Brief Timeline[edit | edit source]
- 1682: Rene-Robert Cavalier, Sieure de La Salle a French explorer encountered the Kiowa
- 1781: A smallpox epidemic killed an estimated 2,000 Kiowa.
- 1785: Left the Black Hills area due to conflict with Cheyenne-Arapaho and Sioux
- 1790: Southern Kiowa move with Comanche to what is now New Mexico.
- 1801: Smallpox epidemic -- loss of nearly half of the tribe
- 1833: Cut-Throat Massacre: Osage Indians attacked Kiowas camp killing many.
- 1835: Treaty at Fort Gibson
- 1840: Kiowa made peace with Cheyenne and Arapaho.
- 1849: Cholera killed more than half of the tribe
- 1853: Treaty at Fort Atkinson, Kiowa, Comanche and Apache Indians . "... annuity to be given annually in July in the vicinity of Beaver Creek, the government may establish farms for the benefit of the tribes."
- 1860's: Governor John Evans encouraged a campaign of extermination against the Indians in the territory.
- November 29, 1864: Sand Creek Massacre -- Colorado militia under the command of Colonel John Chivington engaged in battle against a friendly group of Kiowa - Black Kettle's camp where an American Flag flew over the camp. The tribe had been promised protection as long as the flag flew over their camp. More than 100 Kiowa were killed.
1864:' Kit Carson led troops against the Kiowa and Comanche Adope Walls in the Texas Panhandle destroying 176 tipis and employing the scorched earth policy.
- 1865: Treaty at Little Arkansas River placed Kiowa and Comanche on a reservation in Indian Territory . "...an accurate census of the Indians entitled shall be taken at the time of annuity payment in spring of each year.
- November 27, 1868: General Philip Sheridan directed winter attacks by Major Andrew W. Evans, Major Eugene A. Carr and Colonel George Armstrong Custer to attack the Indians along the Canadian and Washita River valleys.
- 1868: Removed to Indian Territory with the Comanche and Kiowa-Apache
- 1892: Measles killed more than 300 of the Kiowa, Comanche and Kiowa-Apache
- 1901: Kiowa-Comanche and Wichita Reservation are opened to settlement, the last opening in Oklahoma
Additional References to the History of the Tribe[edit | edit source]
- Corwin, Hugh D. The Kiowa Indians: their History and Life Stories. Lawton, Ok. FHL Book:970.3 K627c World Cat
- Frederick Webb Hodge, in his Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico, gave a more complete history of the Kiowa tribe, with estimations of the population of the tribe at various time periods.
- Hughes, Johnson Donald. American Indians in Colorado FHL 970.1 H874h World Cat
- Alice Marriott. The Ten Grandmothers, Norman, OK, University of OK. Press., 1968. FHL Book: 970.3 K627ma
- Mooney, James. Calendar History of the Kiowa Indians FHL book 970.3 K627mj World Cat
Records[edit | edit source]
The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:
- Allotment records
- Annuity rolls
- Census records
- Health records
- School census and records
- Vital records
Agency Records[edit | edit source]
Kiowa Agency Records, 1892-1947. Includes: Records of Employees, Heirship, Annuity, Vital, and School census FHL first of 23 Films 1028507 WorldCat
Superintendencies[edit | edit source]
Biography[edit | edit source]
Methvin, J. J,. Ahpeahtone, Kiowa: a Bit of History. Part of Chronicles of Oklahoma V. 9 (1931) - V. 9 No. 3 (September 1931Digital version
Lawrence, Arthur. Biographical Indexes to Lawton / Ft. Sill residents, ca. 1834-1975. FHL film 2229379 - 2229383 WorldCat
Wharton, Clarence. Satanta: The Great Chief of the Kiowas and His People. New York, NY AMS Press, FHL book 970.3 K627w WorldCat
Census Records[edit | edit source]
1927 Census, Kiowa Agency, Oklahoma.Photocopy of original records at the Kiowa Agency, Anadarko, Oklahoma.FHL book 970.466 B898c WorldCat
1900-1904 Apache, Caddo, Kiowa and Wichita Indian: Census Roll Indian Territory. by Valorie Millican FHL book 970.1 M62aWorldCat
Kiowa Indian Census, 1904-1915
|Tribe||Agency||Location of Original Records||
Post-1885 Census M595 RG 75 Rolls 693
|Kiowa||Kiowa Agency, 1864-1962||Fort Worth||Rolls 211-23||576900-912|
|Kiowa Apache||Kiowa Agency/Anadarko, 1864-80||Washington D.C. and Fort Worth||Rolls 211-23||-|
Correspondence[edit | edit source]
|Tribe||Agency||Location of Original Records||
Pre - 1880 Correspondence
M234 RG 75 Rolls 962
|Kiowa||Upper Platte Agency, 1846-55||Washington D.C.||Roll 889||-|
Upper Arkansas Agency,1855-64
|Fort Worth||Roll 878||-|
|Kiowa||Kiowa Agency, 1864-1962||Fort Worth||Rolls 375-86||-|
|Kiowa Apache||Kiowa Agency / Anadarko 1864-80||Washington D.C. and Fort Worth||Rolls 375-86||-|
Lane Records[edit | edit source]
Tribally owned land: 7,045.80 acres. Allotmented land: 201,350.17 acres.
School Records[edit | edit source]
Kiowa Agency Mission Schools of Oklahoma, 1881-1914. By Helen Deister Bolt, Polly Lewis Murphy, and Aulena Scearce Gibson FHL book 970.3 K627bh or Film 1697271 WorldCat
Military[edit | edit source]
Downey, Fairfax Davis and Jacobesn, Jacques Noel. The Red / Blue coats, the Indian Scouts, U.S. Army. Ft. Collins, Colorado: Old Army Press, c 1973 FHL book 970.1 D758r WorldCat
Haley, James L. The Buffalo War: the History of the Red River Indian Uprising of 1874. Norman, Oklahoma" University of Oklahoma Press, c 1976. FHL Book 970.1 H137b WorldCat
Treaties[edit | edit source]
- 1832 March 26, Kiowa, Ect.
- 1853 July 27, 1853 Fort Atkinson, Comanche,Kiowa and Apache
- 1865 October 18, Comanche and Kiowa
- 1867 October 21,
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
- Kiowa Agency, M595,Births and Deaths 1924-1932, FHL Collection
- Kiowa Agency, M595,Births and Deaths 1930-1936, FHL Film: 576911
Important Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Indian Reservations A State and Federal Handbook. Compiled by The Confederation of American Indians, New York, N.Y. McFarland and Co. Inc., Jefferson, North Carolina, c. 1986. FHL book 970.1 In2 page 229
- Indian Reservations A State and Federal Handbook. Compiled by The Confederation of American Indians, New York, N.Y. McFarland and Co. Inc., Jefferson, North Carolina, c. 1986. FHL book 970.1 In2 page 227
Bibliography[edit | edit source]
Kiowa[edit | edit source]
- Carlson, Paul H. The Plains Indians. College Station, Texas: Texas A and M University Press, c1998. FHL book 970.1 C197p
General[edit | edit source]
- Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives; Record Group 75, Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs.
- Hodge, Frederick Webb. Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico. Washington, DC: Smithsonian Institution, 1906 Available online.
- Klein, Barry T., ed. Reference Encyclopedia of the American Indian. Nyack, New York: Todd Publications, 2009. 10th ed. WorldCat 317923332; FHL book 970.1 R259e.
- Malinowski, Sharon and Sheets, Anna, eds. The Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes. Detroit: Gale Publishing, 1998. 4 volumes. Includes: Lists of Federally Recognized Tribes for U.S., Alaska, and Canada – pp. 513-529 Alphabetical Listing of Tribes, with reference to volume and page in this series Map of “Historic Locations of U.S. Native Groups” Map of “Historic Locations of Canadian Native Groups” Map of “Historic Locations of Mexican, Hawaiian and Caribbean Native Groups” Maps of “State and Federally Recognized U.S. Indian Reservations. WorldCat 37475188; FHL book 970.1 G131g.
- Vol. 1 -- Northeast, Southeast, Caribbean
- Vol. 2 -- Great Basin, Southwest, Middle America
- Vol. 3 -- Arctic, Subarctic, Great Plains, Plateau
- Vol. 4 -- California, Pacific Northwest, Pacific Islands
- Sturtevant, William C. Handbook of North American Indians. 20 vols., some not yet published. Washington, DC: Smithsonian Institution, 1978– .
- Volume 1 -- Not yet published
- Volume 2 -- Indians in Contemporary Society (pub. 2008) -- WorldCat 234303751
- Volume 3 -- Environment, Origins, and Population (pub. 2006) -- WorldCat 255572371
- Volume 4 -- History of Indian-White Relations (pub. 1988) -- WorldCat 19331914; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.4.
- Volume 5 -- Arctic (pub. 1984) -- WorldCat 299653808; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.5.
- Volume 6 -- Subarctic (pub. 1981) -- WorldCat 247493742; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.6.
- Volume 7 -- Northwest Coast (pub. 1990) -- WorldCat 247493311
- Volume 8 -- California (pub. 1978) -- WorldCat 13240086; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.8.
- Volume 9 -- Southwest (pub. 1979) -- WorldCat 26140053; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.9.
- Volume 10 -- Southwest (pub. 1983) -- WorldCat 301504096; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.10.
- Volume 11 -- Great Basin (pub. 1986) -- WorldCat 256516416; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.11.
- Volume 12 -- Plateau (pub. 1998) -- WorldCat 39401371; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.12.
- Volume 13 -- Plains, 2 vols. (pub. 2001) -- WorldCat 48209643
- Volume 14 -- Southeast (pub. 2004) -- WorldCat 254277176
- Volume 15 -- Northwest (pub. 1978) -- WorldCat 356517503; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.15.
- Volume 16 -- Not yet published
- Volume 17 -- Languages (pub. 1996) -- WorldCat 43957746
- Volume 18 -- Not yet published
- Volume 19 -- Not yet published
- Volume 20 -- Not yet published