Kinston North Carolina Family History Center
|This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.|
Center Contacts and Hours[edit | edit source]
- 3010 Carey Rd Kinston NC 28504-4336 United States
- Tuesday, Thursday and Friday: By Appointment Only
- Wednesday:11:00 AM - 4:00 PM and 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Closed all major holidays:
Calendar and Events[edit | edit source]
Upcoming Events[edit | edit source]
Class Schedule[edit | edit source]
Staff Training Meetings[edit | edit source]
Center Resources[edit | edit source]
Collections[edit | edit source]
We have in our center a collection of 170 books and reference materials. We also have on permanent loan, microfilm records for Eastern North Carolina this includes census records and vital records. Please ask staff for help.
Databases and Software[edit | edit source]
- Family History Center Portal
- Free access to subscription based internet web sites, including FamilySearch.org, Ancestry.com, 19th Century British Library Newspaper Digital Archive, Access Newspaper Archive, Find My Past, Fold3.com, historic Map Works Library Edition, Paper Trail, and World Vital Records.
Hardware and Equipment[edit | edit source]
- Computers, printers, microfilm readers and microfiche readers
Center Services[edit | edit source]
Our Center provides research help. We do not perform the research for patrons, but we answer questions and suggest possible sources. Familysearch.org Spanish available.
Staff Research Specialties[edit | edit source]
Resources in the Local Area
[edit | edit source]
Lenoir Community College Heritage Place Library (252-527-6223 Ext. 508)
Links[edit | edit source]
- Using the FamilySearch Research Wiki: A comprehensive video presentation explaining the Wiki, navigating it, and some especially useful pages. Case studies demonstrate using the Wiki for genealogical research. Editing and adding articles to the Wiki are covered.