Kinross-shire, Scotland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Kinross-shire Parishes)
Jump to: navigation, search
United Kingdom
Scotland
Kinross-shire
Scotland Wiki Topics
Flag of Scotland.jpg
Beginning Research
Record Types
Scotland Background
Local Research Resources
Scotland-kinrosshire.png

Guide to Kinross-shire ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Background

Guide to Kinross-shire, Scotland Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. Kinross is an inland county in the south-east of Scotland, bounded on the north-west by the Ochils, which separate it from Strathearn in the county of Perth, and on the east by the Lomond hills, on the south-east and south by the Benarty range, and on the south by the Cleish hills which divide it from the county of Fife.  It is about eleven miles in length and nine miles in extreme breadth, comprising and area of 70 square miles or 44,800 acres.

Prior to the year 1426, the greater portion of the county was part of that of Fife, and for a considerable time after its separation, it contained only the parishes of Kinross, Orwell, and Portmoak.  But in 1685 were added the parishes of Cleish and Tullibole and some small portions of the county of Perth.  It was erected into a sheriffdom, conjointly with Clackmannan, in 1807. Kinross is the county town and the county also contains the populous village of Milnathort and a few hamlets.

The surface, though hilly towards the boundaries, is generally level in the interior and is divided into several extensive plains.  About four-fifths of the land is in profitable cultivation.  Excellent crops of oats and barley are produced, as well as fine crops of wheat.  The pastures on the low lands are principally for cattle, and considerable numbers of sheep are fed upon the Cleish and Ochil hills.  About 3000 acres are in woodland and plantations.  Minerals are not extensive.  Coal is found in the south but is not wrought.  Freestone is quarried in the parish of Cleish and whinstone is every where abundant.  Sandstone and limestone are also found.

The manufacture of cutlery has been discontinued and now only cotton is woven for the manufacturers of Glasgow.  Tartan shawls and plaids are manufactured at Kinross and Milnathort.  The population of the county in 1851 was 8763.

(Source:  Samuel Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of Scotland, 2nd ed., 1851.  FHL book 941 E5L.) 

Scotlands People: An Important Online Source

ScotlandsPeople is one of the largest online sources of original genealogical information. If you are researching UK genealogy, your Scottish ancestry or building your Scottish family tree, they have more than 100 million records to look through.

The comprehensive choice of Scottish records includes:

  • Statutory Registers
  • Old Parish Registers
  • Catholic Parish Registers
  • CPR Others
  • Census
  • Valuation Rolls
  • Soldiers’ Wills
  • Wills & Testaments
  • Coats of Arms

For more detail on exact record availability, see Availability. For examples of the records available, see Record Types and Examples. More information on the site, its contents, and instructions for using it can be found in the ScotlandsPeople Wiki article. Indexes may be searched for free, and there is a small pay per view fee to see the actual digitized record.

Census

Many census records have been indexed by surname. Some indexes cover one parish (and will be listed in the Wiki on the parish page) and some indexes are for the county as a whole. The Family History Library has county-wide census placename indexes for Kinross-shire for 1881.  Click here for other census indexes available at the library.

Church Records

Civil Registration or Statutory Registers

For details on information found in statutory registers and other methods of searching them, see Scotland Statutory Registers - Vital Records.

Refer to the ScotlandsPeople Wiki article.
Images and Indexes Available at ScotlandsPeople Website ($)
Images-Years
Indexes
Births 1855-1910 ◊ScotlandsPeople Website has indexes to 2012.
Marriages 1855-1935
Deaths 1855-1960

Civil Registration or Statutory Registers

For details on information found in statutory registers and other methods of searching them, see Scotland Statutory Registers - Vital Records.

Refer to the ScotlandsPeople Wiki article.
Images and Indexes Available at ScotlandsPeople Website ($)
Images-Years
Indexes
Births 1855-1910 ◊ScotlandsPeople Website has indexes to 2012.
Marriages 1855-1935
Deaths 1855-1960

Parishes

Here is a list of historic parishes for the county of Kinross.  Click on the parish name to see information about records.

Parish No.
Cleish 460
Fossoway & Tulliebole 461
Kinross 462
Orwell (including Milnathort) 463
Portmoak 464
Tulliebole -- see Fossoway 461

Maps


Poorhouse Records

(none known)


Societies

Tay Valley Family History Society
179 - 181 Princes Street
Dundee
DD4 6DQ
Scotland, UK

Tel: +44 (0)1382 461845

Scottish Genealogy Society
15 Victoria Terrace
Edinburgh
EH1 2JL
Scotland
Phone-0131 220 3677
Email enquiries@scotsgenealogy.com