Kingston Upon Hull Charter House, Yorkshire Genealogy
See and print out a "Complete List of Kingston-upon-Hull Parishes and Chapels".
Guide to Kingston upon Hull Charter House, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Kingston Upon Hull Charter House, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Hull Incorporation|
|Parish registers: 1695|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HULL, or Kingston-upon-Hull, a sea-port, borough, and county of itself, situated on the borders of the East riding of York, 39 miles (S. E.) from York, and 170 (N.) from London; comprising the parishes of St. Mary, the Holy Trinity, Drypool, and Sculcoates, the extra-parochial district of Garrison-Side, and part of the parish of Sutton. The ancient borough comprises the parishes of Holy Trinity and St. Mary. The Charterhouse hospital was founded in the year 1384.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
Kingston Upon Hull Charter House, Yorkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|****PARISH NAME**** ##CHURCH OR PARISH## (1***) Online Records|
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England( 1848), pp. 574-580. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
- 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.