Kingston on Soar, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Kingston on Soar, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|Kingston on Soar, Nottinghamshire|
|[[File::Kingston on Soar St+Willfrid Nottinghamshire.jpg|200px]]|
:Kingston on Soar St+Willfrid Nottinghamshire.jpg
|Poor Law Union||Shardlow|
|Parish registers: 1657|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1626|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
KINGSTON-UPON-SOAR, a village and a parish in the district of Shardlow and county of Nottingham. The village stands on the verge of the county, near the river Soar and the Midland railway, 1 mile NNE of Kegworth r. station, and 10 SW by W of Nottingham; and has a post office, of the name of Kingston, under Derby.
Kingston on Soar St Winifred is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Nottinghamshire, created in 1762 from chapelry in Ratcliffe on Soar, Nottinghamshire Ancient Parish.
The Southwell and Nottingham Church History project have researched the church and parish history Kingston on Soar St Winifred
The Parish church of St Winfred has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Kingston on Soar became part of Basford registration district on 1 January 1937
Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).
Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Kingston on Soar St Winifred parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|KINGSTON ON SOAR PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1688-1902 Marriages 1755-1901 Burials 1657-1804 Bishop’s Transcripts 1626-1843
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Kingston on Soar
Kingston on Soar, St Winifred. Alphabetical listing of Memorial Inscriptions dating from 1743, both inside and outside the Church, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 54, pages 8-11, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
- 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..